· 

『いのちの充溢に向かって』ヨハネによる福音書10章7~18節

命を豊かに受けるために

 

ヨハネによる福音書では、「わたしは~~である」というイエス様の言葉が繰り返し述べられています。それはイエス様がどのような方であり、その働きがどのようなものであるか、ということを告げるものです。同時に、それは教会にとって、教会の頭であるイエス様についての信仰告白でもあります。

 

今日の箇所では、「わたしは羊の門である」、「わたしは良い羊飼いである」と述べられています。そこではイスラエルの人々にとっては馴染み深い羊と羊飼いを通して、イエス様のことが語られています。それはイエス様が私たちにとってどのようなお方であるか、ということを告げているものでもあります。

 

その中でも特に注目したいのは10節の言葉です。

 

「わたしが来たのは、羊が命を受けるため、しかも豊かに受けるためである。」

 

神の子としてイエス様がこの世に来られ、福音を宣べ伝え、人々を癒し、働かれたのは、私たちを含めたすべての人が命を受けるためでした。それも、ただ命を得ていればいい、生きていればいいというのではなく、命を豊かに受けるためであるということが強調されています。

 

命は神様が創られたものです。高度に科学が発展した現代においても、一つの命さえ人の手で作り出すことはできません。神様はこの世界を形作り、そこに多様な命を創られました。この世の命は――生物だけでなく地球環境も含めて――多様な結びつきの中で循環しています。そのような豊かな循環の中で、私たち人間が平和と自由を得、愛に基づいた関係をもち、個々の尊厳を守られ、力を発揮していく。そのようにして、創られた命が豊かにされていくことが、イエス様の来られた目的でした。神様は全ての命を祝福するためにこの世界を創りました。私たちの命は祝福され、神様の愛を受け、豊かになるために与えられたのです。

 

 

命を捨てたイエス

 

イエス様は羊の門です。羊たちは昼の間、外で草を食べますが、夜になると囲いの中で休みます。羊飼いは門の前で番をして、羊が迷い出ないように、また襲われないように守ります。そのように、人の命を守ること、その命の豊かさを守ることがイエス様の働きでした。

 

羊の門での番が必要なのは、羊を盗んだり、屠ったりする盗人や、奪ったり、追い散らしたりする狼がいるからです。そのように、この世には私たちの命を脅かすものがあります。それにはウイルスのようなものや、地震のような自然災害もありますが、それだけではありません。むしろここでは人の力――様々な社会的な力――のことが考えられているように思えます。

 

例えばそれには軍隊や警察という力による暴力的な支配・統制が含まれるでしょう。ミャンマーでは国軍クーデターに対して100万人を越えるデモが行われていますが、軍がそれを鎮圧しようとしたために、命が奪われています。軍事政権下で苦しい思いをしてきた人々が、そこに再び戻らないようにと抵抗運動を続けておられます。

 

あるいは経済的な力もあるでしょう。無限の成長を目指すグローバル経済は、人にも自然にも多くの犠牲を求めています。貧困や差別を生みだし、あるいはそれを利用する体制は、どれほど物に溢れ、どれほど新しい物が作られようとも、人の命を豊かにするものではありません。

 

イエス様は、そのような盗人や狼ではなく、良い羊飼いです。「良い羊飼いは羊のために命を捨てる」(11節)。様々な力によって命を脅かされ、犠牲にされている人たちが、命を守られ、豊かに得るために、イエス様は来られました。そのような人たちのために、イエス様はご自身の命を捨てたのです。私たちがイエス様によって豊かになるために、そうしてくださったのです。

 

 

私のために、またこの世のために

 

イエス様は私たちのことを知っておられます。「わたしは自分の羊を知っており、羊もわたしを知っている」(14節)。イエス様の命は、「人類のために」というような漠然としたものではなく、私たち一人ひとりのために差し出されました。イエス様は私たちの名を呼びます。神様は私たちの髪の毛の一本にいたるまで知っておられます。イエス様はその神様と一つであり、私たち一人一人のことを知り、この私たちの命の守り、豊かにするために、ご自身の命を与えてくださいます。

 

しかしそこにあるのは一方的な関係ではありません。イエス様と神様の間には、互いのことを知るという相互的な関係がありました。そこに愛があったのです。それと同じように、イエス様と私たちの間にも、相互的な関係と作ってくださいます。「わたしは自分の羊を知っており、羊もわたしを知っている」(14節)。私たちの名を呼び、声を聞いてくださるイエス様を、私たちも呼びかけ、その声を聞くことができます。私たちがイエス様に愛され、私たちもイエス様を愛することができるのです。

 

この愛は、私たちだけに向けられたものではありません。イエス様は全ての人のために命を捨てたのです。「わたしは羊のために命を捨てる。わたしには、この囲いに入っていないほかの羊もいる。その羊をも導かなければならない」(15~16節)。この世に生きる全ての命が豊かにされるまで、さらにはこの世そのものが豊かにされるまで、イエス様の働きは終わりません。

 

神様の想いは、私たちも含めたこの世の全てが救われることです。それは神様の創造された世界の素晴らしさを取り戻すことであり、あるいはその創造の働きを完成することです。私たちに届けられたイエス様の福音は、他ならぬこの私たちに向けられたものであると共に、世界の全ての人に向けられた良き知らせでもあるのです。

 

 

命の主への礼拝

 

イエス様の働きは、言葉を語ることも、行動をされることも含めて、宣教と呼ぶことができます。教会はイエス様の宣教のために生まれた共同体です。教会はイエス様の福音を宣べ伝え、イエス様に従って歩み続ける群れです。私たちはイエス様と同じにはなれませんが、イエス様に似た者とされながら、宣教の働きを共に担っていきます。

 

その宣教は、神様の想いを実現へと方向付けられます。それは、この世の命が豊かにされること――命の充溢――に向かうものとなります。それは与えられた一つひとつの命を喜び、それを守り、祝福を分かち合うことです。同時に、それは命を脅かし、犠牲にする様々な力と闘い、抵抗することでもあります。

 

私たちが成す宣教の働きは、神様の宣教に仕えるものです。神様は、この世界の只中で、具体的な時間と状況において活動し、正義と平和と和解を通してこの世の命を満ち満ちたものにしようとしておられます。私たちは神様からの霊を受けて、力を与えられ、押し出されて、この世での神様の宣教に加えられていきます。

 

教会の中でなされる働きも、それぞれの生きる場で行われる働きも、それが命の充溢に向かうものであれば、それは神様の宣教の一環です。直接的に「命を救った」と実感できるような働きだけでなく、私たちが語ることと行うことを通して、命の豊かさを生みだし、あるいは命を守り支えることが、神様の宣教に仕えるものとなります。

 

そこに私たちを押し出す場所、あるいは私たちがイエス様と結ばれる所が教会であり、礼拝です。ただ、礼拝は日曜日のこのだけに行うものではありません。ある方はそのような宣教活動を「礼拝式の後の礼拝」と呼んでいます。私たちは命の豊かさを生み出し、またそれを守ることを通して、命の主である神様を礼拝しているのです。

 

神様の宣教に仕えるとき、イエス様はいつも私たちと共におられます。私たちの先を歩み、また私たちを後ろから支えていてくださいます。命が豊かにされることに向かって歩み続けるイエス・キリストと、私たちもしっかりと結びつけられ、教会において、またそれぞれの場所において、この主イエスを証しし、礼拝していきたいと思います。

 

牧師:杉山望


February, 28th 2021  Sunday Service

" For the enrichment of life "

Scripture reading taken from John 10:7~18

 

To receive abundant life

 

In the Gospel of John, the words of Jesus, "I am ...", are repeated. It tells us who Jesus is and what his work is like. At the same time, it is a confession of faith for Jesus, the head of the church, for the church.

 

In today's passage, it is stated that "I am the gate for the sheep" and "I am a good shepherd." There, Jesus is explained using the relationship of sheep and shepherds, which are familiar to the Israelites. It also tells us what Jesus is to us.

 

Of these, the words in verse 10 are especially interesting.

 

“I have come that they may have life, and have it to the full.”

 

Jesus came to this world as a child of God, preached the gospel, healed people, and worked so that all people, including us, would receive life. It is emphasized that it is not just about receiving life and living, but about receiving abundant life.

 

Life was created by God. Even in today's highly advanced science, life cannot be created by human hands. God shaped this world and created various lives there. The lives of this world-not only living things but also the global environment-circulate in various connections. In such a rich cycle, we human beings gain peace and freedom, have relationships based on love, protect individual dignity, and exert their power. It was the purpose of Jesus to come to enrich the life created in this way. God created this world to bless all lives. Our lives have been blessed, loved by God, and given to be prosperous.

 

 

Jesus who gave up his life

 

Jesus is the gate for the sheep. The sheep eat grass outside during the day, but rest in the enclosure at night. The shepherd keeps a watch in front of the gate to protect the sheep from getting lost and being attacked. In this way, it was Jesus' work to protect the lives of people and to protect the abundance of those lives.

 

You need a caretaker at the gate because there are bandits who steal and slaughter sheep, and wolves who snatch and disperse them. As such, there is something in this world that threatens our lives. Naturally it includes things like viruses and natural disasters like earthquakes, but it's not the only that. Rather, it seems that human power-various social powers-is being discussed here.

 

For example, it would include control by force and regulation by the forces of the military and police. More than one million people have protested in a demo against the military coup in Myanmar, but lives were lost as the military tried to subdue the demo. Those who have suffered under the military regime in the past are continuing their resistance to prevent returning to that era.

 

Or it may have financial power. The global economy, which aims for infinite growth, demands many sacrifices from both people and nature. The system that creates or uses poverty and discrimination does not enrich human life, no matter how bountiful or new the produce is.

 

Jesus is not such a thief or wolf, but a good shepherd. “The good shepherd lays down his life for the sheep.” (verse 11). Jesus came to save lives and provide abundance for those who were threatened and sacrificed by various forces. For such people, Jesus gave up his life. It was done so that we could be enriched by Jesus.

 

 

For me and for the world

 

Jesus knows us. "I know my sheep, and my sheep know me," (verse 14). The life of Jesus was not vague, such as "for humankind," but was offered for each of us. Jesus calls our name. God knows even one of our hairs. Jesus is one with God, knows each of us, and gives his own life to protect and enrich our lives.

 

But that is not a one-sided relationship. Jesus and God know each other and have a mutual relationship with one another. There was love in that relationship. In the same way, Jesus also wants to have that type of relationship between us. "I know my sheep, and my sheep know me," (verse 14). We can also call and hear Jesus, who calls our name and hears us. We are loved by Jesus and we can love Jesus too.

 

This love is not just for us. Jesus gave up his life for all. “I lay down mu life for the sheep, I have other sheep that are not of this sheep pen. I must bring them also. (verses 15-16). The work of Jesus will not end until all the lives that live in this world are enriched, and until even the world itself is enriched.

 

God's thought is to save everything in this world, including us. It is to regain the splendour of God's creation, or to complete his creation, his work. The gospel of Jesus delivered specially to us and at the same time also good news to all in the world.

 

 

Worship the Lord of Life

 

The work of Jesus which includes speaking and taking action can be called the ministry. The church is a community born for the ministry of Jesus. The church is a group that preaches the gospel of Jesus and keeps walking according to Jesus. We cannot be the same as Jesus, but we will carry out the ministry together while being made similar to Jesus.

 

The mission is directed toward the realization of God's thoughts. It is toward the enrichment of life in this world-the fullness of life. It is to rejoice in each life given, to protect it, and to share blessings. At the same time, it is also fighting and resisting the various forces that threaten and sacrifice life.

 

The missionary work we do is to serve God's ministry. In the midst of this world, God is working in certain times and situations, trying to fill the life of this world through justice, peace, and reconciliation. We receive the spirit of God, are empowered, sent out, and added to God's ministry in this world.

 

If the work done in the church and the work done in where we live is toward the fullness of life, it is part of God's ministry. It is not only the work that makes us feel that we have saved our lives directly, but also the creation of abundance of life or the protection and support of our lives through what we speak and do, which will serve God's ministry. 

 

The place where we are sent to, or where we are connected with Jesus, is the church and worship. However, worship is not limited to Sunday service. Some call such missionary work "worship after worship." We worship God, the Lord of Life, by creating and protecting the abundance of life.

 

Jesus is always with us when we serve God's ministry. He walks ahead of us and supports us from behind. We are also firmly connected with Jesus Christ, who continues to walk toward the enrichment of life, and I would like for us to worship and bear witness to our Lord Jesus in the church and in where we are.

 

Pastor Nozomu Sugiyama