· 

『あなたがたは自由になる』ヨハネによる福音書8章31~38節

PexelsによるPixabayからの画像

私は自由だろうか?

 「あなたたちは真理を知り、真理はあなたたちを自由にする」。これはイエス様がご自分を信じた当時のユダヤ人たちに言われたことです。「自由にする」ということは、今は自由ではない、ということです。ユダヤ人たちはこの言葉に対して、私たちは自由だ、と反発しました。「私たちは誰かの奴隷になったことはない。それなのになぜ、私たちが自由ではないと言うのですか?」、と彼らは言いました。

 

私たちは自由でしょうか。今年は新型コロナウイルスのせいで、随分と自由が制限されました。今もまだ慎重な行動が求められ、思いのままに活動することができずにいます。ただ、コロナのことがなかったとしても、私たちは自由ではなかったかもしれません

 

私は牧師になる前、3年ほど企業で働いていました。小さな会社でしたので、色んな仕事をやらなければなりません。仕事に追われ、何をしたらいいか、ということを考える余裕もありませんでした。2年目の途中で先輩が休職したときには、仕事量が急に増えて、遅くまで残業する日が続きました。奴隷になったとまではいいませんが、自由はかなり制限されていました。

 

辞書では、「自由とは自分の意のままに振る舞うことができること」と説明されています。自分がしたいと思ったことができて、したくないと思ったことはしない。これをやりなさいとか、あれをしてはいけないといった制限や束縛がない状態が自由だということです。逆に誰かによって行動が制限され、意のままに振る舞うことができなければ、自分は自由ではないと思うでしょう。

 

しかし、自由がない状態とは、それ以外にもあります。私は大学に入学してからの半年間、大学での時間をほとんど一人で過ごしていました。それは私が選んだことであり、誰からも強制されていません。そのような意味では自由だったわけですが、それがイエス様の言う自由だったとは思えません。

 

私が一人で過ごしていたのは、新しく人間関係を作ることを恐れていたからです。人にどのように思われるか、ということを気にしすぎて、その不安から逃れるために一人でいることを選んでいました。それは自分で選んだことではありますが、本当はそうしたかったわけではありません。友達を作り、色んなことを語り合い、一緒の時間を過ごしたいというのが、一番に願っていることでした。

 

自分の本心が望んでいることであって、誰にも強制されていなくても、それを選べないことがあります心の中に、自分の選択を制限する何かの力が働いているからです。それは、恐れや不安、怒りや憎しみ、悲しみや寂しさなど、様々な形を取ります。その原因となったものが何であるのかわかるときもあれば、わからないときもあります。その感情に気づかないこともあり得ます。いずれにしても、そのような状態は、本当の意味で自由であるとは言えません。何より自分自身が、自由であることを実感することができないのです。

 

 

罪の奴隷

 自由ではないと言われたことに反発したユダヤ人たちは、「私たちは今まで誰かの奴隷になったことはありません」と言って、イエス様に反論しました。当時は奴隷制度がありましたので、人の所有物となる奴隷がいました。そのような奴隷にはなったことがない、奴隷ではないものは「自由人」だから、私たちは自由なのだ、とユダヤ人たちは言いたかったのです。

 

けれどもイエス様は、あなたたちは「罪の奴隷だ」と言いました。

 

「はっきり言っておく。罪を犯す者は誰でも罪の奴隷である。」(8:34)

 

あなたが誰かの所有物になっていなくても、あなたが罪を犯すならば、あなたは罪の奴隷なのだ、とイエス様は言うのです。それは罪の力に強制されて自分の行動を自分で選び取ることができずにいるからです。

 

この後の箇所で「悪魔」という言葉も出てきますが、罪の力を人格的に表現すると、悪魔になります。罪の力である悪魔は、人間を自分に従わせようとします。私たちの行動だけでなく、思考や感情も支配し、その選択肢を奪います。それは特に、神様の言葉を聞き、イエス様に従うことから私たちを引き離そうとします。

 

悪魔は私たちの心を支配し、イエス様の語る言葉を理解できなくさせ、イエス様を受け入れることができなくさせます。それは自分が神様にとってどのような存在であるのかをわからなくさせ、神様が私たちへ向ける想いをわからなくさせます。そうなると、私たちは神様の想いに背く行為をしたり、人を傷つけるようなことをしたり、自分を大切にできなくなったりします

 

イエス様を信じたユダヤ人も罪の奴隷となっていました。彼らはイエス様の教えを聞き、その言葉に何かしらの信頼を置いた人たちでしたが、それだけでは悪魔の支配から解放されなかったのです。

 

 

私がイエス様の言葉に留まり、イエス様の言葉が私に留まる

私たちを自由にするもの、それはイエス様の言葉です。それを信じること、いい言葉だと信頼することだけでなく、イエス様の言葉に留まることが必要です。

 

「わたしの言葉にとどまるならば、あなたたちは本当にわたしの弟子である。あなたたちは真理を知り、真理はあなたたちを自由にする。」(8:31-32)

 

「留まる」と訳されたギリシア語の“μένω”という言葉には、離れないという意味があります。イエス様の言葉から離れずに、イエス様の言葉に留まっているときに、私たちはイエス様の弟子です。そのとき、私たちは真理を知り、真理が私たちを自由にします。私が私を自由にするのではなく、私が留まったイエス様の言葉が、私を自由にするのです。

 

私たちは「留まる」ということをどのようにイメージすることができるでしょうか。崖っぷちに立たされて、そこから落ちないように、必死に何かにしがみついている、ぎりぎりのところで踏ん張っている、というイメージでしょうか。

 

ヨハネ福音書の15章で、イエス様は再び「留まる」ということを語っておられます。

 

「わたしにつながっていなさい。わたしもあなたがたにつながっている。」(15:4)

「わたしはぶどうの木、あなたがたはその枝である。人がわたしにつながっており、わたしもその人につながっていれば、その人は豊かに実を結ぶ。」(15:5)

 

ここで「つながる」と訳されたのが、先ほどの“μένω”です。留まるということは、一方的な事柄ではないのです。私たちがイエス様の言葉に留まろうとするとき、その言葉も私たちの内に留まろうとしています。留まるというのは、結びつきのことです。私たちが必死になってしがみついていなければ、そこから放り出されてしまうようなこととして、留まるということをイメージしなくてよいのです。

 

イエス様の言葉に留まる、ということを、イエス様のふところに抱かれることとしてイメージすることができるかもしれません。それは、幼い子どもが親の腕に抱かれて、すっかり安心しきって、その言葉に耳を傾けているようなイメージです。安心して、守られて、自分の身を委ねて、その言葉を自分の内に留めるように、耳を傾け、心を向けている。それが、イエス様の言葉に留まるときの姿だと、私は思うのです。

 

 

神様の想いがあなたを自由にする

イエス様の言葉に留まるときに、私たちが知る真理とは何でしょうか。それはイエス様が神の子であり、神様の御言葉を語り、神様の御心を行う方だ、ということです。イエス様を通して、私たちは神様を知ることができます。そして、神様がこの私に何を語り、どのようなことをなされるのか。神様にとって私はどのような者であり、神様とのどのような関係に招かれているのか、ということを知ることができます。

 

私は罪の奴隷となって生きていました。そうなることを自分で、自由に選んだのではありませんでしたが、確かに神様から離れ、その声も私の耳に届かず、その想いを知ることもありませんでした。自分がどのように生きるのか、自由に選んでいるように見えて、しかし実際は自分の心が何者かに支配され、本当に生きたいように生きることができませんでした。

 

神様の真理は、すべての奴隷状態から私たちを自由にします。イエス様は私たちが自分の価値を見失っているときに、私たちのそばに歩み寄り、私たちが神様にとってかけがえのない存在であること、尊い存在であることを教えてくださいました。私たちに生命を与えた神様は、私たちを最高の作品として作られたのです。

 

神様は、全ての人が神様と結びつき、神様の祝福のうちに生きることを願っていました。私たちが神様から離れたときも、神様の想いは変わることがありませんでした。神様は私たちを見捨てることがなく、どこまでも私たちを愛しぬいてくださいます。私たちを束縛し、自由を奪っていた罪の力は、イエス様が全て背負って、十字架にかかってくださいました。三日目に死からよみがえったイエス様は、私たちも新しく生まれることができることを示してくださいました。

 

イエス様の言葉に留まるとき――その言葉に身を委ね、心のうちに留めようとするとき――、私たちはイエス様の弟子とされ、神様の言葉と想いを知り、本当に自由にされます。イエス様の言葉に留まる人は、神様から送られる霊によって新しく生まれさせられ、神の子とされるのです。

 

「わたしの言葉に留まりなさい。わたしにつながっていなさい。」と、イエス様が私たちをも招いておられます。イエス様の言葉を信じ、イエス様の言葉に身を委ね、神様の愛と守りの中で歩む者となりましょう。


October  4th,2020  Sunday Service

"You will be set free"

Scripture reading taken from John 8:31~38

  

Am I free?

 

"You will know the truth, and the truth will set you free." This is what Jesus said to the Jews at the time who believed in him. To "free someone" means that person is not yet free now. The Jews argued against Jesus that they are free. "We are Abraham’s descendants and have never been slaves of anyone. How can you say that we shall be set free?" They said.

 

Are we free? This year, the new coronavirus has severely restricted our freedom. Even now, we are still required to be cautious, and we are not able to act as we wish. But even if we hadn't had Corona, we might not have been free.

 

Before I became a pastor, I worked for a company for about three years. It was a small company, so I have to do a lot of work. I was so busy with work that I didn’t have time to think of what I really want to do. When my senior took a leave of absence in the middle of the second year, the amount of work suddenly increased, and I continued to work overtime until late at night. I'm not saying I was a slave, but my freedom was quite limited.

 

The dictionary explains that "freedom is the ability to behave at will." I can do what I want and never do what I don't want. It means that you aren’t forced or asked to do anything and not have any restrictions or bindings. On the other hand, if someone restricts your actions and you can't behave as you please, you'll think you're not free.

 

But there are some situations that is different from having no freedom. For half a year after I entered college, I spent most of my time at college alone. It's my choice and it's not forced by anyone. In that sense, I was free, but I don't think it was the freedom that Jesus was speaking about.

 

I was alone because I was afraid to create new relationships. I was too concerned about what people would think and chose to be alone to escape that anxiety. Although it's my choice, it wasn’t something I wanted. My initial desire was to make friends, talk about things, and spend time together.

 

Sometimes you can't choose what you really want, even if no one is stopping you from choosing what you want. There is some power in my mind that limits my choices. It takes many forms: fear and anxiety, anger and hatred, sadness and loneliness. Sometimes you know what caused it, and sometimes you don't. It is possible that you may not notice the feeling. In any case, such a situation truly shows that you are not free. Above all, we ourselves cannot feel that we are free.

 

 

Slaves of sin

 

The Jews, who rebelled against being told they were not free, argued against Jesus, saying, "We have never been slaves of anyone." At that time, there was slavery, so there were slaves that belonged to humans. The Jews wanted to say that they are free because they are "free men" who were different from the “slaves”.

 

But Jesus said that you are "slaves of sin."

"Very truly I tell you, everyone who sins is a slave to sin." (8:34)

 

Jesus says that if you sin, you are a slave to sin, even if you are not someone's possession. It is because the power of sin forces us to make decisions against our will.

 

The word "devil" will appear in the following part, but if you express the power of sin in physical terms, devil is a good representative. The devil, the power of sin, tries to make humans obey. It controls not only our actions, but our thoughts and feelings, and robs us of our choices. It especially seeks to separate us from listening to God's Word and obeying Jesus.

 

The devil rules our hearts, making us unable to understand what Jesus says and making us to be unable to accept Jesus. It makes us confused about what we are to God and the feelings that God has for us. If that happens, we will act against God's wishes, do things that hurt others, and we will not be able to take good care of ourselves.

 

Even the Jews who believed in Jesus were also slaves to sin. They were the ones who listened to Jesus' teachings and put some trust in the words, but that alone did not free them from the rule of the devil.

 

 

Staying in the words of Jesus, the words of Jesus stays in me

 

What frees us is the word of Jesus. It is necessary to not only to believe it and trust it as a good word, but also to stay in the word of Jesus.

 

"If you hold to my teaching, you are really my disciples. Then you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free." (8: 31-32)

 

The Greek word "μένω" translates to "stay” and has the meaning of not leaving. We are disciples of Jesus when we stay in the words of Jesus without leaving the words of Jesus. At that time, we know the truth, and the truth frees us. It is not that I freed myself, but that the words of Jesus that I stayed in freed me.

 

How can we imagine the word "staying"? Do we imagine standing on a cliff, desperately clinging to something so as not to fall from it, or to stand firmly on the edge?

 

In Chapter 15 of the Gospel of John, Jesus spoke about "staying" again.

"Remain in me, as I also remain in you." (15: 4)

"I am the vine; you are the branches. If you remain in me and I in you, you will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing." (15: 5)

 

Here, the translation of "remain" is "μένω". Staying is not a one-sided thing. When we try to stay in the word of Jesus, that word also tries to stay in us. Staying is a bond. You don't have to imagine staying as being thrown away if you do not desperately cling on to something.

 

You may be able to imagine staying in the words of Jesus as being embraced by Jesus. It's like a young child being held in his parents' arms, completely relieved, and listening to the words. He listens and turns his heart to be reassured, protected, entrusting himself, and keep the words within himself. I think that's what it looks like when it stays in Jesus' words.

 

 

God's thoughts will set you free 

 

What is the truth we will know when staying in Jesus' words? It is that Jesus is the Son of God, who speaks the Word of God and does the will of God. Through Jesus, we can know God. And what does God say to us and what will he do? You can know what kind of person you are to God and what kind of relationship you are invited to with God.

 

I lived as a slave of sin. I didn't choose to do that myself, but I was definitely separated from God, unable to hear his voice, and couldn’t recognized that I was a slave to sin. It seemed like I was free to choose how I would live, but in reality, my heart was dominated by someone and I couldn't live the way I really wanted to live.

 

God's truth frees us from all slavery. When we lost sight of our value, Jesus walked up to us and taught us that we are irreplaceable and precious to God. The God who gave us life made us his best work.

 

God wanted everyone to be connected with God and live in the blessings of God. Even when we separated from God, God's feelings did not change. God will not abandon us and will love us forever. The power of sin that bound us and robbed us of our freedom was all carried by Jesus to the cross. Jesus, who rose from death on the third day, showed us that we can be born again.

 

When we stay in Jesus' words, when we entrust ourselves to those words and try to keep them in our hearts, we are made disciples of Jesus, know God's words and thoughts, and will be truly made free. Those who stay in the word of Jesus are reborn by the spirit sent by God and are made children of God.

 

Jesus is inviting us as well, saying, "Stay in my words. Remain in me." Believe in Jesus' words, entrust yourself to Jesus' words, and become a person who walks in the love and protection of God.

 

Pastor Nozomu Sugiyama