· 

『赦しによって作られる新しい世界』ヨハネによる福音書20:19~23

 

恐れに捕らわれたとき

 今日はイースター(復活祭)です。イエス・キリストが十字架にかけられ、墓に葬られてから三日目に甦られたことを記念し、お祝いする喜びの日です。教会にとっては、一年で最も大切な日の一つですが、私たちは今、外出を自粛しながら過ごしています。それは自分自身の命を守るためでもあり、同時に周りの人たちの命を守るためでもあります。

 今の私たちの状況とは異なりますが、イエス様の弟子たちも、外出せず、家に閉じこもっていたときがありました。それは、イエス様が十字架にかけられ、殺された後のことです。弟子たちはいつもイエス様と一緒にいました。彼らはイエス様こそ救い主であり、新しい世界をつくられる方だと信じていました。ところがイエス様が捕えられたとき、彼らはイエス様を捨てて逃げ去りました。

 それは彼らにとって全く予想外の出来事でした。イエス様が十字架にかけられることは、彼らには受け入れがたいことでした。彼らは死をも恐れずにイエス様に従うと誓っていましたが、その勇ましさはすっかり消えていました。考えもしなかった事態の中で、イエス様の言葉を思い起こす余裕もありません。今度は自分の身が危ないのではないかと恐れ、彼らは家に閉じこもったのです。彼らはイエス様を見ることも、御言葉を聞くことも、証しすることも、何もできなくなっていました。

 このような弟子たちの状況は、私たちとは縁のないもののように思えます。迫害が迫り、命の危険を感じるようなことはありません。けれども、私たちも恐れを感じて閉じこもるということはあるでしょう。それはウイルスを恐れることとは少し違います。イエス様に従い、イエス様の弟子として生きることに伴う恐れです。イエス様から引き離し、神様から隠れさせるような恐れが、私たちを襲うことがあります。

 そのような恐れに襲われるとき、私たちの心は閉じられてしまいます。すると神様の御業に目を向けられず、御言葉に耳を傾けられず、イエス様を証しすることができなくなります。新型のウイルスのように、恐れるべきものを正しく恐れることは生きるために必要なことです。けれども、恐れは人と人との信頼関係や社会の繋がりを壊してしまうこともあります。そのような恐れに捕らわれているとき、私たちは神様からも引き離され、生命が脅かされているのです。

特別な結びつきへと招くイエス様の平和

 弟子たちは恐れに捕らわれていました。その弟子たちの真ん中に、突然、イエス様が現れました。十字架にかけられ、死んで墓に葬られたイエス様が、弟子たちの目の前に現れたのです。弟子たちの恐れの一番の原因であった十字架と墓から、イエス様は復活して来られたのです。イエス様は、恐れに捕らわれてはいなかったのです。

 弟子たちの前に現われたイエス様は、彼らに何を言ったのでしょうか。イエス様が言ったのは、「あなたがたに平和があるように」、という祝福の言葉でした。イエス様は弟子たちがご自身を捨てて逃げ去ったことを責めるのではなく、恐れに捕らわれていることを嘆くのでもありませんでした。イエス様は弟子たちに平和を告げたのです。「あなたがたに平和があるように」。それは、平和がここにある、という宣言でもありました。イエス様は私たちに平和を告げ、平和をもたらす方として復活されたのです。

 十字架にかけられる前、イエス様は弟子たちのところに戻って来ることを約束しておられました。ヨハネ福音書14章19~21節で、イエス様はこのように語っておられます。

 「わたしは、あなたがたをみなしごにはしておかない。あなたがたのところに戻って来る。しばらくすると、世はもうわたしを見なくなるが、あなたがたはわたしを見る。わたしが生きているので、あなたがたも生きることになる。かの日には、わたしが父の内におり、あなたがたがわたしの内におり、わたしもあなたがたの内にいることが、あなたがたに分かる。わたしの掟を受け入れ、それを守る人は、わたしを愛する者である。わたしを愛する人は、わたしの父に愛される。わたしもその人を愛して、その人にわたし自身を現す。」

 これが、イエス様の告げた平和、ここにあると告げられた平和です。私たちがイエス様から離れたとしても、イエス様が見えなくなったと思っても、イエス様は私たちのところに戻って来られる。私たちを決して独りにはしておかず、私たちと共におられ、私たちを生かしてくださるのです。

 イエス様の平和は、イエス様と私たちとの特別な繋がりの中に生まれます。私たちはイエス様のうちにおり、イエス様も私たちのうちにいる。イエス様が私たちをその手で包み込み、恐れに閉じこもった心の中にもイエス様が入って来られる。そのように、イエス様は私たちと特別に結び合ってくださるのです。

 そのことがわかるのは、イエス様を信じ、イエス様を愛するときです。ジャン・バニエという人は、「イエスを信じるとは、私たちが愛されていることを信頼することです。」と言っています。イエス様が私たちを愛しておられることは、決して変わることがありません。十字架によってそのことが確かなことだと示されました。私たちにできることは、自分が愛されていることを信頼することです。イエス様は私たちを愛しておられます。私たちもイエス様との特別な結びつきの中に招かれているのです。

 

神の赦し~あなたは大切だ~

 恐れの中に閉じこもっていた弟子たちに、復活のイエス様が平和を告げました。この出来事に、神様の赦しがあります。弟子たちは自分たちの弱さや愚かさを痛感していました。自分たちの信じていたもの、期待していたことが全部崩されてしまった。自分たちは何の力もなく逃げ出し、閉じこもっている。自分たちは何者でもない、どんな価値があるのかもわからない、誰も守ってくれない……。そのような思いに支配されているとき、私たちには平和がありません。

 イエス様は、弟子たちの弱さも、愚かさも全てを知り、全てを受け止めて、彼らに平和を告げました。弟子たちのしたことが些細なことだったからではありません。それは自分たちでは負いきれない罪でした。けれども、イエス様は弟子たちが立ち直ることを、平和を与える条件とはしなかったのです。彼らが立派な人間になったから、強く賢い人間になったから、一緒にいてあげようという、のではありません。恐れの中に閉じこもっている、弱く愚かなままの弟子たちに、イエス様は平和を告げ、彼らと共に生き、彼らと繋がっていることを現したのです。

 このように、イエス様はそのままの私たちを愛してくださいます。イエス様がこの世に来られたのは、そのままで人々を愛すためでした。神様の赦しは、私たちの罪を全て知りながら、それをイエス様が担い、私たちを愛してくださることです。その赦しには、「あなたは大切な人です。あなたはかけがえのない存在です。」という神様からの語りかけが含まれているように思えます。

 人は弱い生き物です。弱いからこそ、弱さを見せることを恐れ、人を攻撃することで自分を強く見せようとすることもあります。弱さから生じる恐れは、人を孤立させ、人と人とを分け隔て、人生を暗い闇で覆います。その恐れは、神様から身を隠させ、神様の御言葉に耳をふさがせます。すると、自分が神様に愛された、大切な、かけがえのない存在であることもわからなくなってしまうのです。

 イエス様は私たちの罪を十字架で担いました。私たちの弱さも、愚かさも、そこから生じた行いも、全て受け止めながら、私たちを愛しぬいてくださったのです。罪によって生じた傷は消えないままで、イエス様は私たちにも現れ、平和を告げてくださいます。「恐れることはない。あなたは私の大切な人だ。神様にとってかけがえのない存在だ。あなたがいてくれて、わたしは嬉しい」、とイエス様が言ってくださる。それは福音——良き知らせ――ではないでしょうか。

 

愛と赦しのメッセンジャー

 イエス様は、平和を告げた者たちをこの世に遣わします。その派遣の言葉は、そのままで読むと私たちが裁判官になるかのようにも読めてしまいます。

 「聖霊を受けなさい。だれの罪でも、あなたがたが赦せば、その罪は赦される。だれの罪でも、あなたがたが赦さなければ、赦されないまま残る。」(ヨハネ20:23)

 しかしこれは、私たちが裁判官のように、人を裁かせる言葉ではないでしょう。罪の赦しは神様の御業であって、私たちが神様のように振る舞うことはできません。

 私たちに託されたことは、神様の赦し、イエス様の平和を伝えることです。私たちが赦すというのではなく、神様の赦しがあることを証しし、伝えること、それを私たちも担うことができます。そこで伝えるべき一番のメッセージは、「あなたは大切だ」ということでしょう。つまり、神様はあなたを愛し、かけがえのない存在だと思っておられる。だから恐れなくていい、というメッセージです。

 この派遣の言葉の後半、「だれの罪でも、あなたがたが赦さなければ、赦されないまま残る。」という言葉の「赦し」は、前半の赦しとは違う言葉が使われています。そのギリシア語は「留め置く」という意味の言葉です。それはつまり、神の愛を伝え、「あなたは大切だ」というメッセージを届けなければ、罪と恐れの中に留め置かれてしまう、ということでしょう。

 私たちが為すべきことは裁判官のように、罪を犯した人を赦すか、赦さないかと決めることではありません。神様に赦され、イエス様の愛を信じ、特別な結びつきに迎え入れられたなら、私たちが受けたことを伝えていくのです。それは、神様がすべての人を赦されたということ。イエス様は、あらゆる人に、「あなたは大切だ、あなたはかけがえのない存在だ、あなたがいてくれてよかった」と伝えようとしたのだということです。

 イエス様を信じ、私たちが神様に愛されていることに信頼できたとき、私たちの生きる世界は新しくなりました。恐れによって支配されていた世界に、イエス様の平和がもたらされたのです。私たちはまだ完全に恐れから自由にはなっていないかもしれません。けれどもイエス様は私たちと共に生き、結びつき、平和を告げていてくださいます。神様の赦しによる平和が、私たちだけでなく、世界に広がっていくならば、この世界も新しい世界になっていくことでしょう。

 新型コロナウイルスは、人の命を脅かします。それは肉体の命だけでなく、恐れによって人を分け隔て、人と人の関係や繋がりも脅かします。私たちはイエス・キリストが死にさえ打ち勝ち、復活して平和をもたらす方であることを信じます。そしてイエス様が伝えてくださった愛と赦しを信じ、それを伝えていきましょう。

 

牧師・杉山望


April 12th,2020  Easter Service

Scripture reading taken from John 20:19~23

 

 Gripped by fear

  Today is Easter Sunday. It is a day we remember and celebrate that Jesus Christ died on the cross, buried, and rose from the dead 3 days later. Today is the most important day for the Church, but in these times, we are spending our days restricting ourselves from going out. What we are currently doing is not only to protect ourselves, but the lives of those around us as well. 

  Although the circumstances were different, Jesus’s disciples were also staying at home and did not went out. This was after Jesus was crucified on the cross. The disciples were always with Jesus. They believe that Jesus was the Savior and that Jesus will bring about the new world. But when Jesus was captured, the disciples left Jesus and fled away.

  This was something unimaginable for the disciples. They could not accept the fact that Jesus was crucified on the cross. They swore to follow Jesus and not fearing even death, but all the courage just disappeared. Amid the unimaginable, they did not have the leeway to even remember the words of Jesus at that time. At that time, fearing for their safety, they closed themselves at their houses. They can no longer see, hear, or testify about Jesus anymore.

  The situation of these disciples is something we cannot relate to, or so we would like to think. We are not persecuted, nor do we fear for our lives like they are. But we are fearful and are afraid to go out as well. This fear is a little bit different from fearing Corona virus. This fear is born from obeying Jesus and living as his disciples. The fear of being separated from God and being hidden from God.

  When such fears strike us, our hearts tend to close up. Resulting in us being unable to turn our eyes to God’s works, unable to listen to God’s words, and unable to testify for Jesus. Like the new virus, fearing what we need to fear is necessary to live. But this very fear can be the thing that breaks down social connections between people. When we are overcome by such fears, we are pulled away from God, and our salvation is being threatened. 

 

Jesus’ peace which invites you to a special bond

  The disciples were overcome with fear. In that time, Jesus suddenly appeared among the disciples. The Jesus who was crucified on the cross and buried, appeared in front of the disciples. The cross and the grave, which was the heart of the disciples’ fear, Jesus overcame those and came back to life. Jesus was not gripped by fear.

  What then, did the Jesus who appeared to his disciples say to them? It was “Peace be with you” which was a blessing in a form of greeting. Jesus did not berate them for forsaking Jesus and running away nor did he lament about how they were gripped by their fears. Jesus gave words of peace to his disciples. “Peace be with you”. It can also be seen as a declaration that peace is here. Jesus resurrected to bring and grant us peace.

  Before being crucified on the cross, Jesus promised his disciples that he will return. John chapter 14:18-21, “I will not leave you as orphans; I will come to you. Before long, the world will not see me anymore, but you will see me. Because I live, you also will live. On that day you will realize that I am in my Father, and you are in me, and I am in you. Whoever has my commands and keeps them is the one who loves me. The one who loves me will be loved by my Father, and I too will love them and show myself to them.”.

  This is the peace granted by Jesus, the peace that Jesus brings. Even when we are separated for Jesus, when we feel that we can’t see Jesus, Jesus will come back to us. He will never leave us alone; He will be with us and resuscitate us.

  Jesus’ peace is born in the midst of our special relationship with Jesus. We are in Jesus and Jesus in us. Jesus covers us in his hands, enters our heart sealed by fear. That is how Jesus creates a special bond with every one of us.

  You will understand and realize that when you come to trust and love Jesus. Jean Vanier said, “To believe in Jesus is to believe that we are loved.”. The fact that Jesus loves us will never change, and the cross has showed us that. What we can do is believe and have faith that we are loved, and that Jesus loves us. We are invited to have a special connection with Jesus.

 

God’s forgiveness~ You are important

  The resurrected Jesus gave his disciples who holed themselves up in fear a greeting a peace. It is in this very exchange that God’s forgiveness is present. The disciples were painfully aware of their weakness and foolishness. Everything they put their hope in and believed in fell apart. They realized of their weakness and ran away and holed themselves up. They realized that they were just nobodies, had no worth, and had no one to protect them. 

  Jesus knew all about his disciples’ foolishness and weakness, yet he chooses to accept them all and gave them a greeting of peace. It wasn’t because what the disciples did was something minor. It was a sin so great that the disciples couldn’t handle themselves. But Jesus did not give them the greeting of peace based on whether they could stand back up again. It wasn’t when that they became great people or strong-willed people that Jesus went back to them. It was when the disciples were holding up themselves in fear, when they were weak and foolish that Jesus came to them and gave them a greeting of peace and to connect with them.

  This is how Jesus loves us as we are. Jesus came to this world just to love us. God’s forgiveness is such that despite knowing all our sins, Jesus took our sins and bear the weight of our sins and still loves us. That forgiveness is as if God is saying, “You are important. You are an irreplaceable existence.”.

  Humans are weak beings. It is because they are weak and are afraid of being shown that they are weak, they attack other human beings just to pass off as someone strong. The fear born from being weak can overwhelm a person, severs his relationships with others, and cast a shadow on his life. That fear will cause us to hide ourselves from God and turn a deaf ear to God’s words. This will result in us not knowing how much God loves us and how important we are to God.

  Jesus bore the burden of our sins through the cross. Despite our weakness, foolishness, and all the actions born from them, Jesus accepted all of them and loved us with all his heart. It was when we bore injuries born from sin that Jesus appeared to us and gave us greetings of peace. Jesus said, “Do not fear. You are important to me. You’re an irreplaceable existence to God. I am happy just by you being by my side”. Isn’t that the Gospel – the good news?

 

Message of love and forgiveness

  Jesus was sent to this world to spread messages of peace. The words that Jesus said to his disciples when his sends them out can be read as though as we are the judges.

John 20:23 – “Receive the Holy Spirit. If you forgive anyone’s sins, their sins are forgiven; if you do not forgive them, they are not forgiven.”

But these are not words stating that we are judges. Forgiving sins is God’s work, not something we have any authority over.

  What have been entrusted to us is to convey God’s forgiveness and Jesus’ peace. It is not our job to forgive, rather to testify to others about God’s forgiveness. The most important part of the message is that ‘You are important’. In other words, God loves you and that you are irreplaceable to God. That is why you don’t have to fear, that is the core of the message.

  The latter half of the words of dispatch by Jesus, “if you do not forgive them, they are not forgiven.”, the word ‘forgive’ has a different meaning than the one in the first half. The meaning of the Greek word that was used is ‘leave it as it is’. It means that as you spread God’s love, the message that ‘You are important’ does not get through, the sins and fear will stay with the one who does not get the message. 

  What we should do is not to judge others like a judge. All we need to do is to spread what we have received from God’s forgiveness, faith in Jesus’ love, and the connection we have with Jesus. This also means that God has already forgiven everyone. Jesus gave us this great commission to tell everyone that ‘you are important, an irreplaceable existence, and I am happy to have you by my side’.

  When we believe in Jesus and that God loves us, our world will change. Jesus’ peace will come into our world that was dominated by fear. We may not yet be completely free from fear, but Jesus will continue to live in us, connect with us, and give us message of peace. If the peace that comes from God’s forgiveness spread throughout the world, then the world too will change into a new world.

  The novel corona virus is threatening the lives of humans. It threatens not only the physical body, but also spreads fear that separates us and breaks relationships between people. But let’s remind ourselves and believe that we have an ally, Jesus Christ, who overcome death and came back to life to be a messenger of peace. We should believe in the love and forgiveness of Jesus and spread it to those around us.

Pastor Nozomu Sugiyama