· 

『神様が守ってくださる』サムエル記上17章37節

Jeff JacobsによるPixabayからの画像

 

 

羊飼いのダビデ

 

今日はダビデさんのことをお話しします。ダビデさんは、昔むかし、遠い国で暮らしていました。ダビデさんの家では羊を飼う仕事をしていたので、ダビデさんは小さい頃から羊の世話を手伝っていました。お父さんも、お兄さんも、ダビデさんも羊飼いでした。

 

羊を飼う場所は、牧場のように柵で囲まれたところではありません。あまり草も生えていないところで羊を飼っていました。だから羊飼いは、羊の群れを連れて、あっちへ行ったり、こっちへ行ったりしながら、羊の食べる草を探し歩きました。夜になると、羊を狙うライオンや熊から羊を守らなければなりませんでした。

 

あるとき、隣りの国の軍隊が、ダビデさんの暮らしていた国に攻めてこようとしました。そこでサウル王は兵士を集めて国を守ろうとしました。ダビデさんのお兄さん3人も戦いに出かけていきました。隣の国の軍隊と、サウル王の軍隊は、谷を挟んで40日以上もにらみ合っていました。

 

息子たちがずっと返ってこないので、お父さんはは心配になってきました。そこでお父さんはダビデさんに言いました。「お兄さんたちにパンと麦を持っていってあげなさい。そして元気かどうか、見てきておくれ」。ダビデさんはパンと麦を持って、お兄さんたちのところへ出かけていきました。

 

 

神様を信じたダビデ

 

ダビデさんが戦場につくと、何やら大きな声が聞こえてきました。いったい誰かと思って谷の方を見てみると、そこには大きな戦士が立っていて、こちらに向かって叫んでいます。「誰か一人を選んで、俺様と一騎打ちをさせろ。そうして勝敗をつけようではないか。」

 

この大男は名前をゴリアトさんと言いました。ゴリアトさんの挑発を40日も聞いていたのに、誰一人、戦おうとする人はいませんでした。なぜなら、ゴリアトさんはあまりにも大きかったからです。身長は3m、頭には丈夫な兜をかぶり、身に付けている鎧は60㎏もありました。肩には丸太のように太い槍を担いでいて、どうみても強そうです。誰も自分では勝てないと思って、戦おうとはしなかったのです。

 

ところがそのとき、ついにあのゴリアトさんと戦うという人が出てきました。それはダビデさんでした。それを聞いてサウル王はダビデさんを止めようとしました。「お前はまだ少年だし、相手はお前が生まれる前から戦士だった。決してかなうはずがない」、と。そう思ったのはサウル王だけではありません。ダビデさんのお兄さんたちも、周りの人達もみんなそう思いました。

 

それでも、ダビデさんだけは、必ず勝てると信じていました。なぜなら、ダビデさんはこれまでライオンや熊と戦ったことがあったからです。羊の群れを襲おうとするライオンや熊にも、ダビデさんは一人で立ち向かい、やっつけてきました。だから、ゴリアトさんにも必ず勝てる、と思ったのです。

 

ダビデさんは信じていました。「ライオンの手や、熊の手から私を守ってくださった神様は、この戦いでも守ってくださる」と。神様はいつも私たちと一緒にいて、守ってくださる方です。ダビデさんは、ライオンと戦うときも、熊と戦うときも一緒にいて、守ってくださった神様のことを信じていました。

 

 

神様が守ってくださる

 

ダビデさんが勝利を確信していることを知って、サウル王もダビデさんがゴリアトさんと戦うことを認めました。サウル王は、ダビデさんに自分の兜や鎧を着させ、剣も持たせてあげました。戦いに必要だろうと考えたからです。ところが、ダビデさんはまだ少年だったので、兜も鎧もぶかぶかでしたし、剣も重すぎたので、歩くこともできませんでした。

 

ダビデさんは言いました。「王様、こんなものを着ていては歩くこともできず、とても戦えません。私は慣れていませんから。」そういってダビデさんは、兜も鎧も脱ぎ、剣も返して、自分の杖を持って出て行きました。サウル王は心配そうでしたが、ダビデさんはまったく心配していませんでした。

 

ダビデさんは谷を降りると、川岸で5つの石を拾い、持っていた袋に入れました。ダビデさんの手には、石投げ紐がありました。これに石を入れて振り回すと、すごい勢いで石が飛んでいくのです。

 

向こうからやって来るダビデさんの姿を見て、大男のゴリアトさんは笑いました。こんな小さな少年が戦うというのか、と。でも、ダビデさんはまったく気にしません。ダビデさんは信じていました。「あなたは剣と槍をもって向かって来る。でも、神様は私を守ってくださる。神様は私を助けるのに、剣も槍も必要とはされないのだ」、と。

 

ゴリアトさんが一歩ずつ、ずしん、ずしんとダビデさんに近づいてきます。大きな剣と槍を持って、ダビデさんを襲おうとしています。するとダビデさんは拾った小石を袋から取り出し、石投げ紐に入れて、ぶんぶんと振り回しました。そして、狙いを定めて、「えいっ」と投げると、小石は猛スピードで飛んで行き、ゴリアトさんの額に命中しました。すると、ゴリアトさんは大きな音を立てて地面に倒れてしまいました。

 

 

神様から与えられた力

 

ダビデさんとゴリアトさんは、どちらが強かったのでしょうか。ダビデさんは小さな少年であり、ゴリアトさんは大きな戦士でした。ダビデさんは小石と石投げ紐しか持っていませんでしたが、ゴリアトさんは太い槍と鋭い剣を持っていました。ダビデさんは羊飼いの服を着ていましたが、ゴリアトさんは丈夫な兜と鎧を着ていました。

 

誰が見ても、ゴリアトさんの方が強いと思いました。けれども、戦いはダビデさんの勝ちでした。ダビデさんはゴリアトさんに勝てると信じていました。それはライオンや熊にも勝ったという経験があったからです。ダビデさんは、自分にも武器が与えられていることを知っていたのです。そしてその武器の使い方を知り、他の武器にも負けないことを知っていました。

 

私たちにも色んな武器や道具が与えられています。神様は、私たちが出会う色んな困ったことや難しいことに立ち向かって、乗り越えられるように、色んな力をくださいます。その力は、たくさん遊び、たくさん学び、色んな人と出会うことで、どんどん伸びていきます。

 

自分がもっている力(武器や道具)は、他の人とは違うかもしれません。もしかしたら、これから先、他の人の方がすごいとか、自分には何もできないと思うことがあるかもしれません。でもそれは、自分が持っているもの・自分にできることを、まだ知らないだけなのです。

 

神様はみんなに色んな力をくださっています。ダビデさんのように、自分に与えられたものを知っていれば、思っているよりもずっとすごいことができるようになります。他の人にはできないことができたり、誰かを助けることができたりします。それはとてもすばらしいことです。

 

それに、みんなは一人ではありません。神様がいつも一緒にいて、守ってくださる。そう信じると、ダビデさんのように、もっと大きな力と勇気が湧いてくる。これからみんながどんなに大きく成長していくのか、期待しています。神様が祝福してくださって、いつも守っていてくださるように、ずっと祈っています。

 

牧師 杉山望


November, 13, 2022, Sunday Worship Service(Infant Blessing Service)

"God Protects"

I Samuel 17:37

 

 

David the Shepherd

 

Today I would like to talk about David. Once upon a time, David lived in a faraway land. David lived in a faraway country once upon a time. David's family was in the business of shepherding sheep, so from the time he was a small child, David helped take care of the sheep.

 

David's family was in the business of raising sheep, so from a young age he helped with the sheep. David's father, brother, and David were all shepherds.

 

The place where they kept the sheep was not fenced off like a farm. There was not much grass. So the shepherd would take his flock of sheep and walked with the flock, going this way and that, looking for grass for the sheep to eat.

 

At night, they had to protect the sheep from lions and bears.

 

One day, the army of a neighboring country tried to invade the country where David lived. King Saul gathered his soldiers to defend his country. David's three older brothers also went out to fight.

 

The armies of the neighboring countries and King Saul's

 

The two armies had been at each other's throats for more than 40 days across the valley.

 

The father became concerned because his sons had not returned to him for a long time. So the father said to David, "Give your brothers some bread and wheat. Bring your brothers some bread and wheat.

 

Bring them some bread and wheat, and see if they are well. And go and see if they are well.” David took the bread and wheat and brought them to his brothers.

 

 

David who believed in God

 

When David arrived at the battlefield, he heard a loud voice. What in the world? He looked toward the valley to see who it was, and saw a big warrior standing there, shouting at him. he said. Choose one of you and let him fight me single combat, and we will decide the winner.

 

The big man's name was Goliath. After 40 days of listening to Goliath's provocations, but no one wanted to fight. Goliath was too big. He was three meters tall, wore a strong helmet on his head, and his armor weighed 60 kilograms. On his shoulders he carried a spear as thick as a log.

 

He looked very strong. No one wanted to fight him because they thought they could not win.

 

But then, at last, someone came out to fight Goliath. It was David. Hearing this, King Saul tried to stop David. He said, "You are only a boy, and your opponent was a warrior before you were born. You will never be able to defeat him." King Saul was not the only one who thought so. David's brothers and all the people around them thought so, too.

 

But David was the only one who believed that he would win. Because David had fought lions and bears before. He had fought lions and bears that tried to attack his flock of sheep alone. Therefore, he will surely prevail against Goliath as well.

 

David believed that he would be able to defeat Goliath. God, who protected me from the lion's paw and the bear's paw, will protect me in this battle.

 

God is always with us and protects us. David was with God when he fought with the lion and when he fought with the bear.

 

David believed in God who was with him when he fought with lions and bears, and who protected him.

 

Knowing David's confidence in victory, King Saul allowed David to fight Goliath. King Saul allowed David to wear his own helmet and armor and carry a sword.

 

He gave him his own helmet, armor, and sword, which he thought he would need for the battle. However, David was still a boy, so he did not have a helmet or a sword.

 

Because he was still a boy, his helmet and armor were too big, and his sword was too heavy, so he could not walk.

 

David said to King, "I am a boy. I should not wear such a thing. I can't walk and I can't fight if I wear these things.

 

I am not used to it. “ David took off his helmet and armor, gave back his sword, and took his staff. King Saul was worried, but David was not worried at all.

 

 As David descended the valley, he picked up five stones from the riverbank and put them in his bag. In David's hand was a rock-throwing cord. When he put the stones in the string and swung it, the stones flew out with great force. Goliath, a large man, laughed when he saw David coming from the other side. David was not at all concerned. But David did not care at all.

 

David believed. Goliath is coming with sword and spear. But God will protect me. God does not need a sword or a spear to save me.

 

Step by step, step by step, Goliath approaches David. Holding a large sword, 

he is about to attack David with a large sword and a spear. Then David took a pebble he had picked up out of his bag, put it in a stone-throwing cord, and swung it around. The pebble flew at high speed and hit Goliath in the forehead. Goliath fell to the ground with a loud noise.

 

 

God-given Power

 

Who was stronger, David or Goliath? David was a small boy and Goliath was a big warrior. David had only a pebble and a lasso. Goliath had a broad spear and a sharp sword. Everyone thought Goliath was stronger. But David won the battle. David believed he could beat Goliath. He had the experience of winning against lions and bears. David knew that he had been given weapons. He knew how to use them, and he knew that he would not be defeated by any other weapon. We have been given many weapons and tools as well. God gives us many weapons and tools to use.

 

God gives us the power to face and overcome the various difficulties and challenges we encounter. This power will grow as we play, learn, and meet many people. The power (weapons and tools) that you possess may be different from others. However, if you do, you will be able to play with other people in the future. You may think that other people are better than you or that you can't do something.

 

But that just means that you don't yet know what you have and what you can do.  God has given us all various kinds of power. Like David, if you know what you have been given, you will be able to do what you want to do.

 

You can do things that others cannot do, or you can help others. It's a wonderful thing.

 

And you are not alone. God is always with us and protects us. When you believe that, like David, you will have more strength and courage. I am sure that you will grow up to be the best you can be. I am looking forward to seeing how much you all will grow. God. God bless you and protect you always.

 

Pastor: Nozomu Sugiyama