· 

『真っ暗闇の中にも光はある』マルコによる福音書4章35~41節

lmareszによるPixabayからの画像

 

 

人生には、突然の嵐に見舞われるようなことや、真っ暗な闇に覆われて先が見えなくなるようなこともあります。恐れを感じ、もうだめだと諦めそうになるそのときに、神はどこにいて、私たちに何を語っているのでしょうか。イエスと弟子たちが経験した出来事から考えてみましょう。

 

 

闇の中で恐れる弟子たち

 

ある時のこと、イエスはガリラヤ湖で舟に乗り、集まってきたおびただしい群衆に教えを告げていました。その日の夕方になると、イエスは弟子たちに、「ガリラヤ湖の向こう岸に渡ろう」と言われました。そこで弟子たちはイエスを乗せたまま、夜のガリラヤ湖へと舟を漕ぎ出していきました。

 

イエスの弟子の中には漁師が何人もいました。彼らはガリラヤ湖の漁師だったので、土地勘もありますし、舟の扱いにも慣れていました。普通、漁は夜中に行うものだったので、夕方から舟で沖へ出ることも珍しいことではありませんでした。彼らには経験があり、技術がありました。

 

以前、ガリラヤ湖で1世紀ごろの漁船が発掘されたことがありました。イエスと弟子たちが乗った舟がそれと同じような舟だったとすれば、その大きさは長さ8メートル、幅2メートルほどでした。イエスと弟子たちが乗ると、それほどゆとりはなく、特別な機材もない、質素な作りでした。

 

舟を漕ぎ出してからどれくらいの時間が経ったころでしょうか。突然、激しい突風が湖に吹き荒れ始めました。ガリラヤ湖は山に囲まれており、その山から吹き降ろす暴風によって、突然、湖が大荒れになることがありました。漁師たちはこの嵐を恐れており、命を落とす人もいたことでしょう。

 

舟は激しい突風に煽られ、大きな波に翻弄されます。舟は何度も波をかぶり、船内は水浸しになってしまいました。舟が沈まないように、弟子たちは必死に舵を取り、水を汲み出し、振り落とされないようにしがみついていました。誰もが恐れを感じ、もうだめだと諦めそうになっていました。

 

そんなとき、弟子たちが後ろを振り向くと、何とイエスが船尾で横になって眠っているではありませんか。イエスも波に揺さぶられ、水をかぶっているはずなのに、まったく動じることもなく眠っていました。弟子たちはその姿を見て、驚き戸惑っていたようです。私たちがこんなに危機的な状況であるのに、そのことに気づいてもいないのだろうか、と思ったからです。

 

そこで弟子たちはイエスを起こして言いました。「先生、わたしたちがおぼれてもかまわないのですか。」(マルコによる福音書4章38節) 私たちがどうなってもかまわないのか。この真っ暗な闇の中、激しい嵐に翻弄されている私たちのことを考えてくれないのか、と彼らは思ったのです。弟子たちの姿には、危機的な状況に置かれたときの私たちの姿が重なります。

 

 

神は必ず共におられる

 

弟子たちの叫びを聞くと、イエスは起き上がりました。そして風を叱り、湖に向かって「黙れ、静まれ」と命じました。すると、風は止み、湖はすっかり凪になりました。「黙れ、沈まれ」というたった二言の命令は、イエスが嵐をも支配下に置いていることを証言しています。

 

ここでの「嵐」は、この世に働く悪魔的な力を表現しています。つまり、この出来事は、イエスが単に自然現象を治めるということではなく、人間に害をなす力に対抗する力を持っている、ということを示しているのです。私たちにはどうしようもないことであっても、神はそれに打ち勝つ力をもっておられるのです。

 

その神はどこにおられるのでしょうか。イエスは嵐の外にいたのではありません。イエスは弟子たちと共に、波に翻弄され、何度も水をかぶる舟の中にいたのです。

 

私たちが真っ暗な闇の中にいるときも、イエスは私たちと共におられます。荒波に翻弄される舟に乗っているようなときにも、イエスは私たちと同じ舟に乗っておられます。恐れを感じたり、諦めたりしそうになっている時、たとえ私たちから神を見ることができなくても、神は必ず私たちと共にいてくださいます。

 

神はいつも私たちに目を向け、私たちの思いの全てを知り、私たちの置かれた状況を知っておられます。神はどのようなときにも私たちから決して離れません。弟子たちの叫びがイエスに届いたように、私たちの叫びも、祈りも、必ず聞いていてくださいます。

 

だから、私たちはどのようなときであっても、一人ではありません。どのような逆境や危機の時にも、神は私たちと共にいてくださいます。イエスが弟子たちと共に舟に乗っておられたように、私たちの人生のも、必ず神が共にいてくださるのです。

 

 

希望の光

 

私たちが逆境や危機に襲われた時、それが耐えられないようなとき、思いもよらない形でそこから逃れる道が開かれることがあります。そのように、神は私たちのために逃れる道をも用意してくださいます。

 

「あなたがたを襲った試練で、人間として耐えられないようなものはなかったはずです。神は真実な方です。あなたがたを耐えられないような試練に遭わせることはなさらず、試練と共に、それに耐えられるよう、逃れる道も備えていてくださいます。」(コリントの信徒への手紙一 10章13節)

 

逆境に立ち向かうことばかりではなく、時には神が備えてくださった逃れる道へ進むことへと導かれる。だから、耐えられないような試練でも、必ず負わなければならない、ということはありません。

 

それでも時には、逆境や危機の中で耐え忍び、何とかして前に進むことが必要になることもあるでしょう。そのとき、私たちに力を与え、前進するように押し出すもの、それが希望です。

 

「そればかりでなく、苦難をも誇りとしています。わたしたちは知っているのです。苦難は忍耐を、忍耐は練達を、練達は希望を生むということを。希望はわたしたちを欺くことがありません。わたしたちに与えられた聖霊によって、神の愛がわたしたちの心に注がれているからです。」(ローマの信徒への手紙5章3~5節)

 

逆境や危機の中で、諦めずに進み続けるためには希望が必要です。南アフリカの聖公会の司祭であるデズモンド・ツツ大主教は、「希望とは、真っ暗闇の中にも光が存在することに、目を向けられること」だと言っています。闇の中にも消えない光があること、嵐の先にも光があることに目を向けられるなら、その光に向かって私たちは進んでいくことができるのです。

 

希望とは、「まだ諦めていない」ということです。前に進もうという意欲が尽きていない、ということです。こうなりたい、こうなってほしい、これが実現してほしい、というビジョンに心が向けられていることです。

 

人が闇の中にいるとき、神は光を見せてくださいました。

 

「イエスは再び言われた。『わたしは世の光である。わたしに従う者は暗闇の中を歩かず、命の光を持つ。』」(ヨハネによる福音書8章12節)

 

イエスは神がいつも私たちと共におられることを示してくださいました。イエスの言葉と行いによって、神が計画し、実現しようとしておられる神の国が露わにされました。その実現を妨害し、人を脅かすどのような力にも神は立ち向かい、その力を治められることが約束されています。

 

「主は羊飼い、わたしには何も欠けることがない。

主はわたしを青草の原に休ませ/憩いの水のほとりに伴い

魂を生き返らせてくださる。主は御名にふさわしく/わたしを正しい道に導かれ る。

死の陰の谷を行くときも/わたしは災いを恐れない。あなたがわたしと共にいてくださる。あなたの鞭、あなたの杖/それがわたしを力づける。

わたしを苦しめる者を前にしても/あなたはわたしに食卓を整えてくださる。わたしの頭に香油を注ぎ/わたしの杯を溢れさせてくださる。

命のある限り/恵みと慈しみはいつもわたしを追う。主の家にわたしは帰り/生涯、そこにとどまるであろう。」(詩編23編1~6節)

 

 

希望を育む信仰

 

希望とは現実から目を逸らすことで与えられるわけではありません。もし弟子たちが、嵐が起こり、舟が沈みそうになっていることから目を逸らしたなら、彼らは助からなかったでしょう。彼らは現実を受け止め、舟が沈まないような対処をする必要がありました。現実を否定したり、問題をすり替えたりするのではなく、起こっていることをまず受け止めることは重要です。

 

ただ、その問題に一人で向き合う必要はありません。一緒に向き合い、考え、動き出せばいいのです。誰かに話しを聞いてもらっても、助けを求めてもいい。弟子たちは互いに協力しあっていましたし、イエスに助けを求めました。それは良いことでした。自分だけで乗り切ることが大事なのではありません。助けを求めていいのです。

 

そしてそこで、私たちは希望を探し求めるのです。具体的な助けを得ながら、また互いに対話しながら、希望のありかを探し、希望を抱かせるビジョンを求めていくのです。私たちには神が示されたビジョンが与えられています。聖書に書き残された信仰の先達が示され、そこに向かって歩き続けた希望が語り継がれています。

 

神は必ず、その希望を実現しようとされます。私たちといつも共にいて、私たちにもその希望を与え、共にそこへ向かって歩んで行こうと招いてくださいます。思いもよらないような形で助けが与えられ、希望に向かっていることを教えられます。

 

希望には信頼が必要です。神への信仰、神の約束への信頼が私たちに希望を与え、逆境と危機の中でもなお歩き続ける力を与えてくれます。イエスは弟子たちに言いました。「なぜ怖がるのか。まだ信じないのか。」(マルコによる福音書4章40節) まだ怖い。まだ信じきれない。でも大丈夫。今よりもっと信じられるようになる。怖れが和らぎ、希望に変えられる時が来る。イエスがそう約束し、信じてくださっているのです。

 

牧師 杉山望


October, 30, 2022, Sunday Worship Service

"Even in total darkness, there is light"

Mark 4:35-41

 

 

There are times in life when we are hit by a sudden storm, or when we are covered in total darkness and cannot see what lies ahead. Where is God and what is He saying to us when we feel fearful and ready to give up? Let us consider the experience of Jesus and his disciples.

 

 

Disciples Fearing in the Darkness

 

On one occasion, Jesus was in a boat on Lake Galilee, teaching a large crowd that had gathered. When evening came that day, Jesus told his disciples, "Let’s cross over to the other side of the Lake Galilee. So the disciples rowed out into the Lake Galilee at night with Jesus in the boat.

 

A number of fishermen were among Jesus' disciples . They were fishermen on Lake Galilee, so they knew the area well and were familiar with the handling of the boat. Fishing was usually done in the middle of the night, so it was not unusual for them to go out to sea in their boats in the evening. They had experience and skill.

 

A fishing boat dating from the first century was once unearthed on Lake Galilee. If the boat in which Jesus and his disciples boarded was similar to that one, it was about 8 meters long and 2 meters wide. When Jesus and his disciples boarded it, there was not much room to spare, and it was of modest construction with no special equipment.

 

How long had it been since they rowed out? Suddenly, a violent gust of wind began to blow across the lake. Lake Galilee is surrounded by mountains, and storms blowing down from the mountains could suddenly wreak havoc on the lake. Fishermen feared this storm, and some would have lost their lives.

 

Boats would be driven by violent gusts of wind and tossed about by large waves. The boat was repeatedly covered by waves and the inside of the boat was flooded. To keep the boat from sinking, the disciples desperately tried to steer the boat, pump out the water, and hold on to it to keep it from being swept away. Everyone felt fear and was about to give up.

 

Then the disciples turned around and saw Jesus lying asleep in the stern of the boat. Jesus was also being rocked by the waves and covered by water, but he was sleeping without moving at all. The disciples were amazed and perplexed at the sight. They wondered if we were in such a critical situation and they didn't even realize it.

 

So the disciples woke Jesus up and said to him, "Teacher, we have fallen down. Teacher, do you not mind if we drown? (Mark 4:38) Do you care what happens to us? (Mark 4:38) They thought, "Don't you care what happens to us?" They thought, "Don't you care that we are being tossed about by a violent storm in this pitch darkness? The disciples image overlaps with our own in times of crisis.

 

 

God is always with us

 

Hearing the disciples' cries, Jesus got up. He rebuked the wind and commanded the lake, "Be silent and be still. Then the wind stopped and the lake became completely calm. The two-word command, "Be silent and be still," testifies that Jesus has the storm under control.

 

The "storm" here represents the demonic forces at work in the world. In other words, this event shows that Jesus is not merely reigning over natural phenomena, but that he has the power to oppose forces that do harm to human beings. Even when we have no control over them, God has the power to overcome them.

 

Where is this God? Jesus was not outside the storm. He was in the boat with his disciples, tossed about by the waves and repeatedly covered with water.

 

Jesus is with us even when we are in total darkness. When we are in a boat being tossed about by rough seas, Jesus is in the same boat with us. God is always with us, even when we cannot see Him, even when we feel afraid or ready to give up.

 

God always looks at us, knows all our thoughts, and knows our circumstances. God never leaves us in any moment. Just as the disciples cries reached Jesus, He hears our cries and our prayers.

 

Therefore, we are not alone in any moment. God is with us in every adversity and crisis. Just as Jesus was in the boat with his disciples, God will be with us in our lives.

 

 

A Beacon of Hope

 

When adversity or crisis strikes us, when it seems unbearable, a way out may unexpectedly present itself. In this way, God also prepares a way of escape for us.

 

God is true. He will not subject you to trials that you cannot endure, but He has prepared for you a way of escape so that you may be able to endure them.

(1 Corinthians 10:13)

 

Not only we have to face adversity, but sometimes we are led to take the escape route that God has prepared for us. So, even trials that seem unbearable, we do not always have to bear them.

 

Nevertheless, sometimes it will be necessary to endure and somehow move forward in the face of adversity or crisis. At those times, hope is what gives us strength and pushes us forward.

 

Not only that, but we also take pride in our tribulations. We know this. We know that suffering produces perseverance, perseverance produces discipline, and discipline produces hope. Hope does not deceive us. For the love of God has been poured out in our hearts through the Holy Spirit who has been given to us. (Romans 5:3-5)

 

In the midst of adversity and crisis, we need hope to keep going and not give up. Archbishop Desmond Tutu, an Anglican priest in South Africa, says, "Hope is being able to see that there is light in the midst of total darkness. If we can turn our eyes to the fact that there is an unquenchable light in the darkness, that there is a light at the end of the storm, then we can move toward that light.

 

Hope means that we have not given up yet. It means that we have not run out of motivation to move forward. It means that our hearts are directed toward the vision of what we want to be, what we want this to be, and what we want to see happen.

 

When man was in darkness, God showed him the light.

 

Jesus said again, "I am the light of the world. He who follows me will not walk in darkness, but will have the light of life." (John 8:12)

 

Jesus showed us that God is always with us. By his words and deeds, the Kingdom of God, which God has planned and intends to realize, has been revealed. God promises to confront and subdue any power that threatens or obstructs its fulfillment.

 

”The Lord is my shepherd, and I shall lack nothing.

He makes me rest in fields of green grass; He accompanies me by the waters of rest.

He revives my soul. He is worthy of his name: he leads me in the right path.

I will fear no evil when I go through the valley of the shadow of death. Thou art with me. Thy rod and thy staff / give me strength.

Thou prepares a table for me in the presence of my tormentors. Thou anoint my head with oil; Thou make my cup to overflow.

As long as I live / Grace and mercy will always follow me. To the house of the Lord I will return / And there I will abide all the days of my life." (Psalm 23:1-6)

 

 

Faith that foster hope

 

Hope is not given by turning away from reality. If the disciples had turned away from the fact that a storm was brewing and the boat was about to sink, they would not have survived. They needed to accept the reality and deal with it in a way that would not sink the boat. It is important to accept what is happening first, rather than denying reality or shifting the issue.

 

However, we do not have to face the problem alone. We can face it together, think about it, and move on. You can ask someone to talk to you or ask for help. The disciples were working with each other and they asked Jesus for help. That was a good thing. It is not important to get through it on your own. It is okay to ask for help.

 

And that is where we look for hope. With concrete help, and in dialogue with one another, we look for where that hope is, for the vision that raise us hope. We have been given a vision that God has shown us. We have been shown what the predecessors of faith wrote down in the Bible, and we are told of the hope that kept us walking toward it.

 

God will surely seek to fulfill that hope. He is always with us, giving us that hope and inviting us to walk toward it with him. We are given help in unexpected ways, and we are taught to move toward hope.

 

Hope requires trust. Faith in God, trust in His promises, gives us hope and the strength to keep walking even in the midst of adversity and crisis. Jesus said to his disciples, "Why are you afraid? Do you still not believe?" (Mark 4:40) Still afraid, still not believing. But don't worry. You will be able to believe more than you do now. The time will come when your fear will ease and be replaced by hope. That is what Jesus has promised us, and we believe it.

 

Pastor: Nozomu Sugiyama