· 

『感謝~わたしを助けてくれたすべての人に』テサロニケの信徒への手紙一 5章16~18節

swamianandaによるPixabayからの画像

 

「いつも喜んでいなさい。絶えず祈りなさい。どんなことにも感謝しなさい。」(テサロニケの信徒への手紙一 5章16~18節)

 

ある人はこれをキリスト教的な生活の根本となるものだと言っています。喜び、祈り、感謝は互いに結び付いていますが、今日はその中でも特に「感謝」について考えます。私たちは様々な人とのつながりの中で助けられ、私たちも誰かを助けながら生きてきました。そのような関係性へと導き、助けを与えてくださった神様がおられるので、わたしたちは感謝して生きることができるのです。

 

 

感謝することの土台

 

この手紙を書いたのはパウロですが、彼自身も絶えず神に感謝していたことが、少し前の箇所に書かれていました。

 

「わたしたちは絶えず神に感謝しています。なぜなら、わたしたちから神の言葉を聞いたとき、あなたがたは、それを人の言葉としてではなく、神の言葉として受け入れたからです。」(テサロニケの信徒への手紙一 2章13節)

 

実はパウロは、テサロニケの前に訪れたフィリピで苦しめられ、辱められていました。神の言葉を伝えたいという熱い思いを持ちながら、挫折を経験したパウロにとって、テサロニケでの出会いは助けとなり、励ましとなりました。彼はテサロニケの人々のことをいとおしく思い、「自分の命さえ喜んで与えたい」と願うほどでした(テサロニケの信徒への手紙一 2章8節)。パウロにとって、テサロニケの人々は「愛する者」になったのです。

 

テサロニケの人々は、パウロから聞いたことを神の言葉として受け入れました。苦難を経験し、挫折したパウロにとって、彼ら・彼女らの存在はどれほど大きな助けとなったことでしょうか。それ以外にも、パウロの働きを助けることもあったかもしれません。パウロはそこに神の導きと働きがあったことを思いながら、感謝する想いを抱いていました。

 

「わたしたちは、祈りの度に、あなたがたのことを思い起こして、あなたがた一同のことをいつも神に感謝しています。あなたがたが信仰によって働き、愛のために労苦し、また、わたしたちの主イエス・キリストに対する、希望を持って忍耐していることを、わたしたちは絶えず父である神の御前で心に留めているのです。」(テサロニケの信徒への手紙一 1章2~3節)

 

パウロはテサロニケの人々とのつながりを与えられ、自分が助けられ、また自分も助けるという関係性の中で、感謝する想いを抱きました。彼が経験した苦難だけを切り取れば、それはとても感謝できるようなものではありませんでした。けれども、その苦難も含めて彼が経験してきたこと、またその中で与えられた出会いとつながりは、彼が心から感謝するものでした。「どんなことにも感謝しなさい」とパウロが勧めるとき、その感謝は、人とのつながりや、助けられた経験が土台になっているのです。

 

 

私たちが受けてきた助け

 

それでは、私たちに与えられた出会いや人とのつながりには、どのようなものがあったでしょうか。私たちはどのような助けを得て、あるいは誰かの助けとなってきたのでしょうか。「私たち」といっても、その経験はみんな違っています。違っていますが、振り返れば誰もが、自分に影響を与え、人生を良くするような出会いやつながり、また助けがあったことでしょう。

 

先週の水曜日の聖書を読む会でも、同じことをお尋ねしました。両親のこと、学校の先生のこと、職場の上司のこと、支援団体の職員のこと、など、色んなことを分かち合ってくださいました。

 

私自身も、思い返せばいくつもの大切な出会いがあり、色んな人に助けていただきました。その中には、不思議なつながりだったものもあります。高校3年生のとき、卒業後の進路のことで、教会の壮年の方が自分のやりたいことをするようにと強く後押しをしてくださったことがありました。それまでほとんど関わったことのなかった人であり、その後も教会を離れてしまった人でしたが、あの人がいなければ、きっと今の私はなかったでしょう。私にとって、それは神様の導きの中で与えられた助けでした。

 

大きな助けばかりでなく、小さなことも含めれば、私たちへの助けは数えきれないほどあります。子どもたちが元気に遊んでいる声に力をもらったり、優しく声をかけられたことで前向きな気持ちになったり、と、私たちは色んな助けを得ています。あるいは普段の生活に必要なものを誰かが作り、届けてくれたことで、私たちは生きることができています。

 

「人が独りでいるのは良くない」と神様は語られました(創世記2章18節)。それは、他者と共に生きることの大切さを伝えると共に、そもそも一人では生きられないということでもあります。誰もが人とのつながりの中でしか生きられません。誰もが大小さまざまな助けを受けながら生きています。私たちはそのような存在として創られているのです。

 

そしてそれは、逆の視点から見れば、私たちも誰かにとって出会った人であり、助けとなった人になっている、ということです。きっと、自分が思っている以上に、私たちはたくさんの人の助けになっているのです。小さなことは忘れてしまうでしょう。いや、誰かにとって大きな助けになったことでさえ、自分の方では大したことではないと思っているかもしれません。

 

神様は私たちを、人とのつながりの中で生きる者として創られました。私たちはこれまでの人生の中で、大小さまざまな助けを受けながら生きてきました。私たちもまた、誰かの助けになってきました。神様は人とのつながりを通して私たちを助けてくださいましたし、そのような出会いへと導いてくださっていました。

 

 

すべての人に感謝

 

人は一人では生きられない。だからこそ、「人が独りでいるのは良くない」。人とのつながりは、目に見える助けを与えてくれるだけでなく、私たちの心に平安と慰めを与えてくれるでしょう。人との関わりを通して、私たちの心は満たされます。私たちには他者が必要なのです。

 

その他者は、関係の深い人だけに限りません。家族や友人、仲間以外の人たちとの関わりも通して、私たちの心は満たされますし、私たちは誰かの心を満たすことができます。そのためには、家族や友人、仲間に目を向けることはもちろん、それ以外の人にも目を向けることが大切です。

 

私たちがどれほど多くの人とのつながりの中で生きているでしょうか。普段の生活の中で出会う人たち――その多くは名前も知らない人たち――のことを考えてみましょう。あるいは、私たちの生活の向こう側にいる人たち――例えば店に並ぶ商品の先にいる人たちや、インターネットの向こう側にいる人たち――にも目を向けてみましょう。それらのつながりも、今までより少しでも大切にすることができれば、それは誰かの人生を少し良くすることに貢献することであり、神の愛を示す行動となります。

 

今の私があるのは、これまで私が出会い、私を助けてくれたすべての人のおかげです。その関わりや影響は大小さまざまですが、その誰もが私にとってかけがえのない存在です。同じように、私たちもまた、他の誰かに取ってかけがえのない存在となりながら生きてきました。他の誰かの今も、私たちの助けによって支えられていたのです。

 

私たちは助け合いながら、共に生きるように創られていた。神様はそのようなつながりを作り、ある時には誰かを助け、別の時には誰かに助けられるように導いてくださいました。そのつながりと助け合いの中に、神様は伴ってくださり、私たちの人生を支え導いてくださいました。だから、わたしを助けてくれたすべての人と、その人たちとの出会いへと導いてくださった神様に感謝したいと思います。

 

牧師 杉山望


October, 2, 2022, Sunday Worship Service

"Grateful for Everyone- For Being There for Me"

Scripture reading is taken from 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18

 

 

Rejoice always, pray continually, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus. (1 Thessalonians 5:16-18 / New International Version (NIV))

 

Some say that the very foundation of the Christian life is joy, prayer, and thanksgiving. But for today, let us reflect on “giving thanks”. We are all where we are today because of all the people who have been there for us, and we, too, at times, have been that shoulder to lean on for someone else. We give thanks in our day-to-day lives because it is God who leads us to such relationships and helps us through such encounters.

 

 

What Gratitude is Based On

 

In 1 Thessalonians chapter 2 verse 13, Paul, the author of this letter, writes what he is constantly thankful for. 

 

And we also thank God continually because, when you received the word of God, which you heard from us, you accepted it not as a human word, but as it actually is, the word of God, which is indeed at work in you who believe. (1 Thessalonians 2:13 / NIV)

 

Before going to Thessalonica, Paul was humiliated and tormented at Philippi. Because of such setbacks, despite the passion to preach the word of God, Paul’s encounters at Thessalonica were a great encouragement and help. He cared for and loved the Thessalonians so much that he was willing to share his “lives as well” (1 Thessalonians 2:8 / NIV).

 

Since the Thessalonians accepted Paul’s words as the word of God, he acknowledges how much their mere existence was a comfort for him because of the hardships he had just experienced. Furthermore, Paul also writes how grateful he was for the support he received from them.

 

We always thank God for all of you and continually mention you in our prayers. We remember before our God and Father your work produced by faith, your labor prompted by love, and your endurance inspired by hope in our Lord Jesus Christ.  (1 Thessalonians 1:2-3 / NIV)

 

Paul’s thanksgiving grew through his bond and interconnectedness with the Thessalonians as they supported each other in their relationship. If we only focus on his hardships, they were certainly not something to be thankful for, per se. But because of all the things he experienced, including the setbacks, he was given relationships and ties that he was continually thankful for. Thus, when Paul encourages us to “give thanks in all circumstances”, this gratitude is based on the connections that we have been given and the help that we have received through such relationships. 

 

 

The Help We Have Received Thus Far

 

What comes to mind when you reflect on the relationships you have had with others or what you have encountered thus far? Have you ever assisted anyone, or have you ever been helped by someone else? Although we may have different encounters and experiences, when we look back on our lives, we must have had bonds, persons, and relationships that have helped us or have left a life-fulfilling impact to get us where we are now.

 

When I asked the same question last Wednesday at our Bible Reading Session, the participants shared various stories about their parents, teachers at school, bosses at work, support group staff, and many others. I have had precious connections and have been helped by numerous people, as well. I especially remember a mysterious encounter with an elder member of the church during my last year of high school.  I had never talked to him much before, until that time, and he eventually ended up leaving the church as well. But this one time, when I was thinking about my path after graduation, he strongly encouraged me to do whatever I wanted to do and to make my heart’s desires a priority. Although our connection was a brief one, if it were not for him, I would not be where I am today. As I look back, I see God’s leading hand and am grateful for this experience.

 

God helps us in countless ways, whether it be big or small. For instance, we may receive strength from the giggles of happy children, or our hearts may be comforted through someone’s kind words. Or from another perspective, it could be said that our lives are sustained by someone delivering or making something to meet our daily needs.

 

Genesis chapter 2 verse 18 writes how, “The Lord God said, “It is not good for man to be alone.” (NIV). This conveys our interconnectedness and the importance of living with others. It shows how we are not meant to live alone in the first place. We live interdependently, receiving help in various shapes and sizes. This is how we were created to be.

 

Furthermore, we have not only been supported, but we, too, have been a shoulder for someone to lean on or a special someone for another person. Sometimes we may forget the little things or even the big contributions we may have made, but we have, at one point or another, been there for someone.

 

God created us to be interconnected and to thrive in relationships with each other. Whether it be big or small, we all have had encounters that helped us get to where we are now. And along the way, we too have helped others. It is through these numerous connections that God helps us and leads us in our lives.

 

 

Grateful for Everyone

 

None of us have gotten where we are on our own, nor can we live alone. Therefore, the Bible makes clear that “It is not good for the man to be alone.” (Genesis 2:18 / NIV). Our connectedness not only helps us in obvious ways, but it also brings comfort and peace to our hearts. It is through such relationships that our souls are fulfilled. We all benefit from embracing others. 

 

These relationships are not limited to those with whom we have close ties. Our cups can be filled with connections other than family and friends, and we too can fill someone else’s cup no matter how close we may be with that person. That is why it is important to recognize all people in yourself, not just in immediate bonds.

 

Have you ever thought about how many people are connected to you? Think of the people we come across in our day-to-day lives, even those who we do not even know by name. Let’s also dig deeper and think of our interconnectedness. How about the people who bring or make the food in our neighbouring supermarkets or those we are connected to through the internet? If we could see the value and worth of those we are close to and those beyond our everyday encounters, wouldn’t that contribute to making choices to help someone’s life a little better? And wouldn’t that be a wonderful action to share God’s love?

 

We are who we are and where we are today because of everyone with whom we have come into contact and received help, whether it be big or small. Each encounter is precious, and likewise, our lives have been embraced by someone else. Even now, someone’s life may be encouraged by our assistance or our very existence. 

 

We are created to live together and to help each other out. God creates such connections between us, and at times, leads us to be the shoulder to lean on or gives us someone to lean on. In those bonds and connectedness, God is with us and guides us. So, let us thank God for all the people who have helped us along the way, and for God’s guidance to such beautiful encounters. 

 

Pastor: Nozomu Sugiyama