· 

『ずっと背負われてきた』イザヤ書46章3~4節

MeredithによるPixabayからの画像

 

 

本日の礼拝は、敬老感謝礼拝です。明日が「敬老の日」であることと関係がありますが、聖書の中にも、年を重ねた人を敬うことや、高齢者の祝福について語られている個所がいくつもあります。今日の箇所も、老いる日まで、白髪になるまで背負って行こう、という神様の約束が告げられています。私たちが生まれたときからずっと、私たちと共にいて、背負い続けてくださった神様の御言葉を聞きたいと思います。

 

 

私から離れない足あと

 

「わたしはあなたたちを造った。わたしが担い、背負い、救い出す。」(イザヤ書46章4節)

 

この言葉を聞くと、私は一つの詩を思い出します。マーガレット・パワーズという人が書いた『あしあと』という詩です。この詩を基にした讃美歌もいくつか作られているように、広く知られるようになった詩です。

 

『あしあと』

 ある夜、わたしは夢を見た。

 わたしは、主とともに、なぎさを歩いていた。

 暗い夜空に、これまでのわたしの人生が映し出された。

 どの光景にも、砂の上にふたりのあしあとが残されていた。

 ひとつはわたしのあしあと、もう一つは主のあしあとであった。

 

 これまでの人生の最後の光景が映し出されたとき、

 わたしは、砂の上のあしあとに目を留めた。

 そこには一つのあしあとしかなかった。

 わたしの人生でいちばんつらく、悲しい時だった。

 

 このことがいつもわたしの心を乱していたので、

 わたしはその悩みについて主にお尋ねした。

 「主よ。わたしがあなたに従うと決心したとき、

 あなたは、すべての道において、わたしとともに歩み、

 わたしと語り合ってくださると約束されました。

 それなのに、わたしの人生のいちばんつらい時、

 ひとりのあしあとしかなかったのです。

 いちばんあなたを必要としたときに、

 あなたが、なぜ、わたしを捨てられたのか、

 わたしにはわかりません。」

 

 主は、ささやかれた。

 「わたしの大切な子よ。

 わたしは、あなたを愛している。あなたを決して捨てたりはしない。

 ましてや、苦しみや試みの時に。

 あしあとがひとつだったとき、

 わたしはあなたを背負って歩いていた。」

マーガレット・F・パワーズ

translation copyright(C)1996 by Pacific Broadcasting Association

 

私はあなたを背負って歩いていた。神様というのは、私たちを背負って歩いてくださる方です。それぞれの人生を振り返ってみると、どんな足あとが残っているでしょうか。軽やかにスキップしていた足あともあれば、力強く踏みしめていた足あともあります。一方で、苦しみに耐えながら、やっとの思いで踏み出した足あとも、不安の中で迷いながら進んだ足あともあります。

 

そんな私たちの人生に、初めから決して離れることなく伴ってくださる方、それが神様であり、主イエス・キリストです。その主なる神様は、私たちが辛い時、独りぼっちになったかのように思える時に、私たちを背負って歩いてくださる。自分だけでは立ち上がることもできないようなとき、負わされた重荷に押しつぶされそうになっているときに、私たちのすべてを受けとめて、すべてを担ってくださるのが神様なのです。

 

私たちの人生の足あとには、いくつもの足あとがあったことでしょう。私たちが出会った人たち、共に生きた人たち、助け、助けられ、手を取り合って歩んだ人たちの足あとです。長く並んで歩いた足あともあれば、一時交わっただけの足あともある。その中で、神様の足あとは、何があろうとも、どれほどの時間が経とうとも、私たちの足あとから離れることがないのです。神様は私たちと共におられる方だからです。

 

 

負わされた偶像

 

このイザヤの預言の背景にも目を向けてみましょう。この預言は、バビロニア帝国の偶像と、聖書の神様を対比しています。当時、バビロニアには捕虜として連れて来られたイスラエルの人々がいました。そこではバビロンの神々の像を動物たちに背負わせ、都の中をパレードしていたようです。それは宗教的なものであり、同時にバビロニア帝国の権力を表すものでもあったことでしょう。

 

イザヤもこのパレードを見ていました。すると、金や銀の像を背負わされた動物たちが苦しみ、時にふらつき、ついにはかがみ込んで倒れ伏すのを見ました。それは、バビロニアの権力のもとで重荷を負わされ、苦しみ呻いている人々の姿と重なるような光景でした。

 

そんなときに、あの金や銀の像は何をしたかといえば、何もできなかったのです。疲れた動物たちが倒れ伏すのと一緒に倒れることしかできなかった。なぜなら、それは偶像であって、自分で歩くこともできず、動くためには背負われるしかなかったからです。同じように、バビロニアの権力は、その支配下に生きる人々の上に乗って苦しめるばかりで、人々を助け、救い出すことはできませんでした。

 

5節から7節では、それらの偶像を造った鋳物師のことが語られます。鋳物師は金や銀でバビロニアの神々の像を造り、それを肩に担ぎ、背負っていきます。ここでも、像は人に背負われます。背負われなければ動くことができないのです。動けない像に助けを求めて叫んでも、答えてはくれません。

 

この預言は、形のある像を拝む宗教の良し悪しを語ろうとしているのではないと考えます。ここでの偶像は、単に宗教的なものではなく、むしろバビロニアの権力を象徴するものだからです。その権力は、イスラエルを滅ぼし、人々を捕虜とし、人間としての尊厳を奪い、どうすることもできない重荷を負わせたものです。そのような権力に頼っても、助けは得られず、答えてはもらえません。

 

私たちにとっても問題となる偶像も、必ずしも宗教的な姿をしているとは限りません。私たちに背負わされ、重荷となり、そのために疲れ、かがみ込み、倒れ伏してしまうようなもの。そのような権力や社会構造は、バビロニアの偶像に似ているのです。

 

 

ずっと背負われてきた私たち

 

私たちが聞くべき言葉は、そのような偶像の言葉ではありません。「わたしに聞け」と語られる主の言葉をこそ、私たちは聞くべきです。その主なる神様は、「わたしがあなたがたを担い、背負い、救い出す」と言うのです。あの偶像とはまるで反対のことをなさるのです。

 

「あなたたちは生まれた時から負われ/胎を出た時から担われてきた。

同じように、わたしはあなたたちの老いる日まで/白髪になるまで、背負って行こう。

わたしはあなたたちを造った。/わたしが担い、背負い、救い出す。」(イザヤ書46章3~4節)

 

私たちは誰もが、この世に生まれた時、母の手に抱かれ、両親や周りの大人たちに背負われてきました。私たちに必要なものはすべて与えられました。苦しみは和らげられ、疲れは癒され、空腹は満たされてきました。成長するにつれて、背負われることは少なくなっていきますが、それでも多くの重荷を負ってもらって、私たちは生きてきました。

 

背負われていいのだ、と神様はおっしゃっています。背負われることが本来の人間の姿なのだ、と。私たちは成長していく中で、誰かを助け、誰かを背負うこともできるようになりました。それは大切なことです。けれども、背負いきれない重荷を負わされ、倒れ伏すまで歩かされることを、神様は望んではいないのです。むしろ神様が私たちを背負い、救い出そうとされるのです。

 

神様に背負われるのは、生まれたばかりの時だけではありません。それは老いて白髪になるまで、この世での生涯を終える日までです。神様はいつも、いつまでも、私たちを――この世に生きる全ての人を――担い、背負い、救い出してくださるのです。

 

「わたしに聞け、心のかたくなな者よ

 恵みの業から遠く離れている者よ。」(イザヤ書46章12節)

 

イスラエルの民は、この神の言葉を聞き続けるべきでした。しかし、様々な偶像が――この世の権力が――力を振るう中で、神様の言葉に耳を閉ざし、力に頼ろうとしたことがありました。神様に委ね、頼るのではなく、自分たちで全てを背負おうとし、それによって疲れはて、倒れ伏してしまいました。

 

神様はそのような人々を癒したいのです。再び神様の言葉を聞いて、神様と共に歩き出すことを望んでおられるのです。私たちが重荷から解き放たれ、生命が癒されるまで、神様は私たちを背負い続けているのです。

 

 

神様の御業を思い起こして

 

預言者イザヤは、神様からの二つの命令を告げています。一つは「わたしに聞け」ということ。3節と12節で繰り返し告げられています。神様の言葉を聞くこと、神様の意思を知ること、神様の戒めに従うこと、それは今の時代にも大切なことです。

 

もう一つ命じられているのは、8節と9節で繰り返される「思い起こせ」ということです。

 

「思い起こせ、初めからのことを。わたしは神、ほかにはいない。

 わたしは神であり、わたしのような者はいない。」(イザヤ書46章9節)

 

それは、人々に希望を与え、神様の約束を思い出させるために必要なことでした。辛く苦しいとき、先が見えないときに、神様が告げることは、まずこれまでのことを思い起こすことの大切さです。

 

「初めからのこと」とは、出エジプトの出来事から始まり、イスラエルの民が経験してきたことでしょう。イスラエルの民は、祖先の歩みの中にあった神様の導き、助け、救いを思い起こします。彼ら・彼女ら自身が経験したことではなくても、それは神様が何をしてくださったのか、それが私たちにどのようにつながって来たのか、を教えてくれました。

 

神様は確かに私たちの祖先を担い、背負い、救い出してくださった。その神様が、こう告げておられる。

 

「わたしは初めから既に、先のことを告げ、まだ成らないことを、既に昔から約束しておいた。わたしの計画は必ず成り、わたしは望むことをすべて実行する。」(イザヤ書46章10節)

 

私たちも神様に背負われてきた。神様は私たちを救い出してくださる。見棄てることなど決してなく、私たちの生涯をご自身のものとして受け止め、担ってくださる。そのように、神様に信頼していいのです。神様に委ね、頼っていいのです。負いきれない重荷もまとめて、神様が私たちを背負ってくださるとおっしゃるのですから。

 

「あなたたちは生まれた時から負われ/胎を出た時から担われてきた。

同じように、わたしはあなたたちの老いる日まで/白髪になるまで、背負って行こう。

わたしはあなたたちを造った。/わたしが担い、背負い、救い出す。」(イザヤ書46章3~4節)

 

牧師 杉山望


September, 18, 2022, Sunday Worship Service

"I Have Been Carried on God’s Back All My Life"

Scripture reading is taken from Isaiah 46:3-4

 

 

Today's service is a service of thanksgiving for the elderly. As tomorrow is Respect-for-Senior-Citizens Day, there are many passages in the Bible that speak of respect for the aged and blessings for the elderly. Today's passage also tells us of God's promise to carry us until the day we grow old and gray. We want to hear the words of God who has been with us since our birth and continues to carry us on His shoulders.

 

 

Footprints that will never leave me

 

“I have made you. I will carry you, I will bear you, I will deliver you.” (Isaiah 46:4)

 

These words remind me of a poem. It is called "Footprints" written by Margaret Powers. It is a poem that has become widely known, as there are several hymns based on it.

 

 Footprints

 One night I dreamed a dream.

 I was walking along the beach with my Lord.

 Across the dark sky flashed scenes from my life.

 For each scene, I noticed two sets of footprints in the sand,

 one belonging to me

 and one to my Lord.

 

 When the last scene of my life shot before me

 I looked back at the footprints in the sand.

 There was only one set of footprints.

 I realized that this was at the lowest and saddest times in my life.

 

 This always bothered me and I questioned the Lord about my dilemma.

 "Lord, you told me when I decided to follow You,

 You would walk and talk with me all the way.

 But I'm aware that during the most troublesome times of my life there is only one set of footprints.

 I just don't understand why, when I needed You most,

 You leave me."

 

 He whispered, "My precious child,

 I love you and will never leave you

 never, ever, during your trials and testings.

 When you saw only one set of footprints

 it was then that I carried you."

  (copyright(C)1964 by Margaret Fishback Powers)

 

I was walking with you on my back. God is the one who walks with us on His back. When we look back on our lives, what footprints are left behind? Some footprints were skipping lightly, others were stamping with strength. On the other hand, there are footprints of those who endured suffering and finally stepped out, and those who went forward lost in anxiety.

 

God, the Lord Jesus Christ, is the one who accompanies us in our lives from the beginning without ever leaving us. When we are going through a difficult time, when we feel as if we are all alone, the Lord God carries us on His shoulder and walks with us. When we are unable to stand on our own, when we feel crushed by the burdens we are burdened with, it is God who takes all of us and bears all of us.

 

We have probably had many footsteps in our lives. They are the footprints of people we have met, people we have lived with, people we have helped and been helped by, people we have walked hand in hand with.Some footprints we walked side by side for a long time, and some we just crossed paths for a time. Among them, God's footprints will never leave our footprints, no matter what happens, no matter how much time passes. For God is with us.

 

 

Burdened Idols

 

Let us also look at the background of this prophecy of Isaiah. This prophecy contrasts the idols of the Babylonian Empire with the God of the Bible. At that time, there were Israelites brought into captivity in Babylonia. There, it seems, they had animals carry the images of Babylonian gods on their backs and paraded them through the city. It must have been religious and at the same time a representation of the power of the Babylonian empire.

 

Isaiah also saw this parade. Isaiah also watched the parade and saw animals carrying gold and silver statues on their backs suffering, sometimes wobbling, and finally crouching and falling down. It was a scene that reminded him of the suffering and groaning people who were burdened under the Babylonian power.

 

What did those gold and silver statues do at such a time? All they could do was to fall down along with the tired animals that were falling down. Because they were idols, they could not walk by themselves and had to be carried on the animals’ backs in order to move. Likewise, the Babylonian power could only ride upon and torment those who lived under its rule, but it could not help and deliver them.

 

Verses 5-7 speak of the founders who made those idols. The founders made statues of Babylonian gods out of gold and silver, which they carried on their shoulders and carried on their backs. Again, the statues are carried by people. Without being carried on their backs, they cannot move. Crying out for help to an immobile statue will not get an answer.

 

We do not think that this prophecy is trying to speak of the goodness or badness of religions that worship tangible statues. For the idols here are not merely religious, but rather symbolic of Babylonian power. That power is the one that destroyed Israel, took the people captive, robbed them of their human dignity, and burdened them beyond their control. Relying on such power will not help and will not be answered.

 

Idols, which are also problematic for us, are not necessarily religious figures. They are things that are carried and burdened by us, and for which we grow weary, crouch, and fall down. Such power and social structures resemble Babylonian idols.

 

 

We who have been carried on our backs all along

 

The words we need to hear are not the words of such idols. We should listen to the words of the Lord who says, "Listen to me.” The Lord God says, "I will carry you;

 

I will sustain you and I will rescue you.” He does the opposite of that idol.

 

“you whom I have upheld since your birth, and have carried since you were born. Even to your old age and gray hairs I am he, I am he who will sustain you. I have made you and I will carry you; I will sustain you and I will rescue you.” (Isaiah 46:3-4)

 

When we were born into this world, we were all carried in our mother's arms and carried by our parents and the adults around us. Everything we needed was given to us. Our suffering has been alleviated, our tiredness has been healed, and our hunger has been satisfied. As we have grown up, we have been carried less and less, but we have still had many burdens to carry.

 

God says it is okay to be carried. It is the true nature of human beings to be carried on His back. As we grow up, we are able to help others and to carry others on our backs. That is important. However, God does not want us to be burdened with burdens that we cannot bear and to walk until we fall down. Rather, God wants to carry our burdens and rescue us.

 

He bears our burdens not only when we are newborn, but until we are old and gray, until the day we finish our life on earth. God always and forever carries, bears, and delivers us, all who live in this world.

 

“Listen to Me, you stubborn-hearted, you who are now far from my righteousness." (Isaiah 46:12)

 

The Israelites should have continued to listen to this word of God. However, there were times when they closed their ears to God's word and tried to rely on power, as various idols - the powers of this world - wielded power. Instead of surrendering and relying on God, they tried to bear everything on their own, and they became exhausted and fell down.

 

God wants to heal such people. He wants them to hear His word again and walk with Him. God continues to carry us until we are released from our burdens and our lives are healed.

 

 

Remembering God's Work

 

The prophet Isaiah announces two commands from God. The first is, "Listen to me," which is repeated in verses 3 and 12. Hearing God's word, knowing God's will, and obeying God's commandments are all important in this day and age.

 

Another command is "remember," which is repeated in verses 8 and 9.

 

“Remember the former things, those of long ago; I am God, and there is no other; I am God, and there is none like me." (Isaiah 46:9)

 

It was necessary to give people hope and remind them of God's promise. When times are hard and painful, when the future is uncertain, what God tells us is the importance of first remembering what has been.

 

By "the former things," I suppose it means what the Israelites have experienced, beginning with the Exodus. The Israelites recall God's guidance, help, and salvation in the steps of their ancestors. Even if they did not experience it themselves, it told us what God did and how it came to be connected to us.

 

God has indeed carried, borne, and rescued our ancestors. God has told us, "I make known the end from the beginning, from ancient times, what is still to come. I say, ‘My purpose will stand, and I will do all that I please.” (Isaiah 46:10)

 

We, too, have been carried by God. God will deliver us. He never abandons us, but takes our whole life as His own and bears it. We can trust God in that way. We can surrender to God and rely on Him. We can entrust and rely on God, for God says that He will carry our burdens, even the ones we cannot bear.

 

He says, "you whom I have upheld since your birth, and have carried since you were born. Even to your old age and gray hairs. I am he, I am he who will sustain you. I have made you and I will carry you; I will sustain you and I will rescue you.” (Isaiah 46:3-4)

 

Pastor: Nozomu Sugiyama