· 

『善い行いのために造られた神の作品』エフェソの信徒への手紙2章8~10節

Annie SprattによるPixabayからの画像

エフェソの信徒への手紙の著者は、「私たちは神の作品である」と述べます。神は私たちをこの上なく愛し、私たちが罪に陥り、死んだような状態にあってもキリストと共に新しい生命に生きるようにさせてくださいました。だから私たちは、肉の欲望に留まるのではなく、キリストと共に善い業を行って歩むのです。

 

人間の罪

 

手紙の著者は、私たち人間の以前の姿をこのように述べています。

 

「あなたがたは、以前は自分の過ちと罪のために死んでいたのです。」(1節)

 

あなたがたは死んだような状態であった。それが神の目から見た私たち人間のあり様です。心臓は鼓動しているし、体は熱を持っている。体は動いているし、頭も働いている。けれども、私たちは死んだような状態にありました。

 

死んだような状態とは、生命を失っている状態でしょう。それは私たちが生命の源であり、生命そのものである神から離れ、神から与えられていた祝福を失っているということです。それは私たちが生命の神から引き離され、神との交わりから疎外されているということです。それはまた私たちが、神が望む人間相互の交わり、人と人とが共に生きる関係性が壊されていることでもあるでしょう。

 

神から引き離されているとき、私たちは神ではない者と結びつけられています。

 

「この世を支配する者、かの空中に勢力を持つ者、すなわち、不従順な者たちの内に今も働く霊に従い、過ちと罪を犯して歩んでいました。」(2節)

 

「空中に勢力を持つ者」というのは悪魔の呼び方の一つです。私たちは誰もが、私たちを神から引き離し、また隣人からも引き離すような力に襲われています。その力は私たちを圧倒し、孤立させ、絶望へと追い込む力を持っています。

 

「悪魔」という存在は、古代の迷信のように思えます。悪魔という言葉でイメージされる存在が、空中を飛び回っているということは、信じられないでしょうし、そう信じるように促されているわけではありません。けれども、私たちを神から引き離し、人と人とを分断し、敵対させるような力はこの世で勢力を振るっているのではないでしょうか。

 

私たちは、そのような悪魔の力に翻弄され、圧倒されてしまいます。同時に、私たち自身がそのような力を求めたり、その力に魅了されたりしてしまうこともあるのです。

 

「私たちも皆、こういう者たちの中にいて、以前は肉の欲望の赴くままに生活し、肉や心の発するままに行動していたのであり、ほかの人と同じように、生まれながら神の怒りを受けるべき者でした。」(3節)

 

「肉の欲望」というと、食欲・性欲・睡眠欲という人間の三大欲求が思い浮かびます。そのことも含まれているかもしれませんが、それだけに限定されているわけではないでしょう。「肉」は神の意志に敵対する生き方を指しています。私たちは神の意志に背くような欲望のままに生活し、行動していました。そのように強いられたこともあれば、自らそれを望んでいたこともありました。そうすることで、神とも、隣り人とも引き離され、孤立していました。

 

「神の怒りを受ける」というのは、「神の有罪宣告に値する」という意味です。それは罰を与えることを指しているのではなく、欲望の赴くままに生活することが過ちであり、生命を失い、死んだような状態になってしまうことを告げることなのです。それが誰もが陥ってしまう人間の罪でした。

 

 

共に生き、共に学ぶという本質

 

人間は社会的な生き物だと言われます。人はそれぞれに人格と個性をもって生きていますが、いつも、誰もが他者と関係を持ちながら生きています。人間というのは本質的に社会的な存在であり、他者との関わりの中で、他者を意識しながら生きています。

 

そしてそれこそが、人間が他の生物と異なる点です。私たち人間は、大きな脳を持っていることではなく、人と人とが共に働き、共に学ぶことができるというという特徴を与えられたことで、多くの恵みを受けてきました。

人間と遺伝子が99%一致するというチンパンジーでさえ、人間のような社会は作りません。チンパンジーは群れで行動しますが、他のチンパンジーの考えを理解したり、学び合ったりすることはできません。関係を深め、共に働き、共に学ぶということは、人間だけが行うことのできる神からの特別な賜物なのです。

 

人間の罪は、その賜物を手放すものです。他の人のことなど考えずに、自分の欲望を満足させることばかり考えれば、共に働くことはできません。自分勝手なことばかり言い放ち、他の人の話を聞こうとしなければ、共に学ぶということはできません。それは個人の間だけの問題ではありません。グループ間でも自分たち独自の文化を発展させる一方で、互いに交流することをしなければ、共に働き、共に学ぶことは起こりません。

 

そのように孤立すると、人の視野は狭くなり、無駄も多くなり、より良い選択をすることも難しくなります。様々なつながり方ができるようになったにもかかわらず、今の社会は、本来人間に与えられていたそのような賜物を失っていく方向にあるのかもしれません。共に働くこと、共に学ぶこと、共に生きることから引き離されたり、それを自ら拒んだりすることが、肉の欲望の赴くままの生活です。そのような生活は、結局のところ祝福を失い、危機をもたらし、絶望へと向かうものとなるのです。

 

 

復活と新しい生命

 

神はそんな私たち人間の生活を転換させました。それは神の愛と憐れみ、恵みによるものです。

 

「しかし、憐れみ豊かな神は、わたしたちをこの上なく愛してくださり、その愛によって、罪のために死んでいたわたしたちをキリストと共に生かし、キリスト・イエスによって復活させ、共に天の王座に着かせてくださいました。」(4~6節)

 

神は私たちをこの上なく愛してくださった。愛されるような魅力があるからというわけではありません。死んだ状態に陥っていた私たちを、神は無条件に、この上なく愛してくださったのです。その愛と憐れみによって、私たちの歩みを逆転させ、再び恵みを与えてくださったのです。

 

神は二つのことを私たちのためになさいました。死んだ状態であった私たちを復活させ、天の王座に着かせてくださったのです。それは神がキリスト・イエスになさったことでした。十字架で死んだイエスは、復活し、天の王座に着かれました。そのイエスと共に私たちも復活させられ、イエスと共に天の王座に着かせられたのです。

 

イエスには罪がありませんでした。私たちのように欲望に支配され、神から引き離され、隣り人とも引き離されるようなことはなさいませんでした。けれどもイエスは十字架に架けられて死なれました。イエスはその活動においても、またその死においても、死んだ状態であった私たちのもとへ下ったのです。そうすることでイエスの方が私たちと結びつき、イエスと共に私たちを復活させたのです。

 

イエスが私たちのもとまで下ってくださったので、私たちはもはや孤立してはいません。私たちは誰も一人で生きているのではありません。イエスが私たちと共に生きてくださいます。私たちはイエスと共に働き、イエスと共に学ぶことができるようになりました。人間本来の生き方を取り戻すことができたのです。

 

天の王座は、私たちが欲望の赴くままに生活することを引き起こすものではありません。そこは神のもとで平安と休息を得る場です。そこには悪魔の力は及ばず、神の愛と憐れみを受けることができます。それと共に、天の王座は悪魔の力との闘いの場でもあります。それは私たちがキリストと共に働き、共に学び、共に生きる場です。神の恵みの内に、私たちが神と共に生き、隣り人と共に生きることを再び始める場です。イエス・キリストは、私たちをそのように新しい生命に生きるものとしてくださったのです。

 

 

善い業を行って歩む

 

アフガニスタンで井戸や用水路を掘って、現地の人々の命を生活のために仕えた中村哲さんは、30年間の現地活動を通して得たメッセージをこのように伝えておられました。

 

「人間にとって本当に必要なものは、そう多くはない。少なくとも私は「金さえあれば何でもできて幸せになる」という迷信、「武力さえあれば身が守られる」という妄信から自由である。何が真実で何が不要なのか、何が人として最低限共有できるものなのか、目を凝らして見つめ、健全な感性と自然との関係を回復することである。

やがて、自然から遊離するバベルの塔は倒れる。人も自然の一部である。それは人間の内部にもあって生命の営みを律する厳然たる摂理であり、恵みである。科学や経済、医学や農業、あらゆる人の営みが、自然と人、人と人の和解を探る以外、我々が生き延びる道はないであろう。それがまっとうな文明だと信じている。その声は今小さくとも、やがて現在が裁かれ、大きな潮流とならざるを得ないだろう。」

(『天、共に在り アフガニスタン三十年の闘い』中村哲、NHK出版、2013)

 

私たちは、欲望の赴くままに生活することが生命を奪い、人を死んだ状態にさせることを知りました。そのことをイエスの言葉から教えられますし、この世の現状を見て知ることもできます。そして人間にとって本質的な生き方を、イエスの生涯と死から学ぶことができますし、自然のあり様や、新しい生命に生かされている人々から学ぶことができます。

 

そのことを教え、新しい生命を与えることは、神の一方的な恵みです。私たちが自分の力で勝ち取らなければならないことではありません。神の恵みによって私たちは失っていたものを見つけ、大切なことを学び、新しい生き方へと方向転換させられます。

 

「わたしたちは神に造られたものであり、しかも、神が前もって準備してくださった善い業のために、キリスト・イエスにおいて造られたからです。」(10節)

 

私たちは神の作品です。私たちは善い業を行う者として造られました。誰もが本来、善い業を行う者だったのです。その善い業とは、肉の欲望によるものとは違って、神の意志に適う生き方です。それは何か特定の事業のようなものに限らず、神と共に、キリストと共に、そして隣人と共に生きることです。

 

神は私たちを神の作品として造ってくださいました。神は私たちをこの上なく愛し、私たちを死んだ状態からキリストと共に復活させ、キリストと共に新しい生命に生きるように方向転換させてくださいました。だから、「わたしたちは、その善い業を行って歩むのです」(10節)。神と共に生き、キリストと共に働き、隣り人と共に学びながら歩んでいくのです。

 

牧師 杉山望


January, 16, 2022, Sunday Service

"We Are God's Handiwork, Created to Do Good Works"

Scripture reading is taken from Ephesians 2:8-10

 

 

The writer of Ephesians says, "we are God's handiwork." God loves us so much that He let us live a new life with Christ, even if we are in a sinful and dangerous situation. Therefore, we should walk with Christ doing good works, not remaining in the lusts of the flesh.

 

Human Sins

 

The writer of the Epistle describes our former state as follows:

 

"As for you, you were dead in your transgressions and sins." (v. 1)

 

Humans were spiritually dead. That's how humans were viewed in God's eyes. Their hearts were beating, their bodies had heat, their bodies were moving, their brains were working. Yet, humans were spiritually dead.

 

Being dead is a state of lifelessness. It means that we leave God, the source of life itself, and that we have lost the blessings given by God. It means that we are separated from the God of life and alienated from His fellowship. It also means that we are destroying the fellowship that God desires with us, the relationship that we have with one another.

 

When we are separated from God, we are connected to someone who is not God.

 

"you used to follow the ways of this world and of the ruler of the kingdom of the air, the spirit who is now at work in those who are disobedient." (v. 2)

 

The "ruler of the kingdom of the air" is one way to call the devil. We are all under the assault of forces that separate us from God and from our neighbors. These forces have the power to overwhelm us, isolate us, and drive us to despair.

 

The existence of the "devil" seems to be an ancient superstition. It is hard to believe, and we are not encouraged to believe, that a being associated with the word "devil" is flying around in the air. However, there seems to be forces at work in this world that can separate us from God and turn us against each other.

 

We are bombarded with such devilish forces and are overwhelmed by them. At the same time, we ourselves can be tempted to seek such forces or be attracted to them.

 

"All of us also lived among them at one time, gratifying the cravings of our flesh and following its desires and thoughts. Like the rest, we were by nature deserving of wrath." (v. 3)

 

The "cravings of our flesh" bring to mind the three major human desires: food, sex, and sleep. The "cravings of the flesh" may include these three desires, but are not limited to them. The "flesh" refers to a way of life that is hostile to the will of God. We often live and act according to our desires in opposition to God's will. Sometimes we are forced to do so, and sometimes we want to do so for ourselves. By doing so, we are isolated, separated from God and from our neighbors.

 

To "deserve wrath" means to "deserve God's condemnation". It does not mean to be punished, but to be shown that living according to our desires is a mistake, and that we will lose our lives and become as dead. That is the human sin that we all fall into.

 

 

The Essence of Living and Learning Together

 

It is said that humans are social creatures. Each of us has our own personality and individuality, but we all live in relationship with others. We are essentially social beings, and are always aware of others.

 

And that is what makes us different from other animals. We humans have been blessed, not just by having a big brain, but by being able to work and learn together with others.

 

Even chimpanzees, whose genes are 99% identical to humans, do not form societies like humans do. Chimpanzees work in groups, but they cannot understand or learn from other chimpanzees. Deepening relationships, working together, and learning together is a special gift that God has only given to humans.

 

Our sins result in relinquishing that gift. If we only think about satisfying our own desires without thinking about others, we cannot work together. If we are selfish and do not listen to others, we cannot learn together. It's not just a problem between individuals. If groups do not interact with each another while developing their own cultures, they miss opportunities to work and learn together.

 

When we are isolated in this way, our perspective becomes narrower, more wasteful, and it becomes more difficult to make better choices. Despite the fact that we can be connected in many ways, today's societies may be on the verge of losing the gifts that were originally given to us. To be separated from others, refusing to work, learn, or live together, means to live according to the desires of the flesh. Such a life will ultimately lead to the loss of blessings, to crisis, and to despair.

 

 

Resurrection and New Life

 

God transformed human lives. He did it because of His love, mercy, and grace.

 

"But because of his great love for us, God, who is rich in mercy, made us alive with Christ even when we were dead in transgressions - it is by grace you have been saved. And God raised us up with Christ and seated us with him in the heavenly realms in Christ Jesus" (v. 4-6)

 

God loves us beyond measure. It is not because we are attractive enough to be loved. We humans were spiritually dead once. Nevertheless, God loved us unconditionally to the fullest degree. By His love and mercy, He turned our deadly course and gave us grace again.

 

God has done two things for us. He resurrected us from being spiritually dead and placed us in the heavenly realms. That is what God did for Christ. Jesus, who died on the cross, was resurrected and placed on the throne of Heaven. We were resurrected with Jesus and placed in the heavenly realms with Christ Jesus.

 

Jesus had no sin. He was not ruled by lust, separated from God, or separated from His neighbors, like us. Yet, Jesus died on the cross. When we humans were spiritually dead, Jesus came down to us through his death as well as his acts. He connected with us and resurrected us with him.

 

Now that Jesus has come down to us, we are no longer alone. None of us live alone. Jesus lives with us. We can now work with him and learn with him. We have regained our original way of life.

 

The heavenly realm does not lead us to live according to our desires. It is a place where we can find peace and rest with God. It is a place where the devil has no power over us and we can receive God's love and mercy. At the same time, the heavenly realm is also a place of battles against the power of the devil. It is a place where we can work, learn, and live together with Christ. It is a place where, in the grace of God, we can begin to live with God and with our neighbors again. Jesus Christ has made us to live in such a new life.

 

 

Going through Life Doing Good Works

 

Tetsu Nakamura, who served the people of Afghanistan by digging wells and irrigation canals, shared what he learned through 30 years of field work.

 

He said in his book, "Providence Was with Us," as follows:

 

"There are not so many things that people really need. At least I am free from the superstition that "if you have money, you can do anything and be happy" and the delusion that "if you have military power, you can protect yourself." We need to look closely at what is true, what is unnecessary, and what is the minimum that we can share as humans, in order to restore our healthy sensitivity and relationship with nature.

Eventually, the tower of Babel that isolates from nature will fall. We are also a part of nature, which is a stern providence and a blessing that governs our lives. There is no other way for us to survive except to seek reconciliation between nature and humans, between humans, in science, economy, medicine, agriculture, and all other human activities. I believe that such a way is what a decent civilization is all about. Even if the voice for the way is small now, the present condition will soon be judged, and the voice will have to become a major trend." (Unauthorized translation for the Japanese text in "Providence Was with Us")

 

We have learned that living according to our desires takes away life and makes us dead spiritually. We can learn that from the words of Jesus, and we can also learn it from the current condition in this world. We can learn from the life and death of Jesus about the essential way of life, and we can learn from nature and from the people who have new life.

 

It is God's unilateral grace that teaches us how to live and gives us new life. It is not something we have to earn on our own. By God's grace, we find what we have lost, learn what is important, and are redirected to a new way of life.

 

" For we are God’s handiwork, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do. " (v. 10)

 

We are God's handiwork. We are created to do good works. Everyone is originally created to do good works. That good work is a way of life that is not according to the desires of the flesh, but according to the will of God. It is not limited to some specific project, but it is living with God, with Christ, and with our neighbors.

 

God has created us as His handiwork. He loves us so much that He brought us back from being spiritually dead through Christ and redirected us to live a new life with Him. Therefore, we should "do good works" (v. 10). We should go through life, following God, working with Christ, and learning with our neighbors.

 

Pastor Nozomu Sugiyama