· 

『良き振舞いを伴う信仰』ヤコブの手紙3章13~18節

Sasin TipchaiによるPixabayからの画像

徳島教会とのオンライン合同礼拝

 

本日の礼拝は、徳島キリスト教会とオンラインでの合同礼拝として献げています。昨年の8月に徳島教会からのお申し出をいただきましたが、そのときは金沢でコロナ感染が拡大していたために実現することができませんでした。約一年先延ばしになりましたが、一緒に礼拝を献げる恵みが与えられたことを主に感謝します。

 

私にとって徳島教会は、1歳のときから小学校1年生のときまで過ごした教会です。徳島教会と金沢教会にはいくつかの共通点があります。たとえば日本バプテスト連盟の教会としては、一つの県にただ一つの教会であること。小さな群でありながら、近年、会堂建築を行ったこと(徳島は2017年、金沢は2018年に完成)。そして、もう一つの共通点は、牧師が杉山という名前であることです。

 

徳島教会の杉山いずみ牧師は私の姉ですが、あまり似ている姉弟ではありません。性格はほぼ真逆なので、私とは反対の性格を想像していただくと、姉がどんな人がわかります。それでもそれぞれに神様の導きがあって、牧師として立てられていることは不思議なことであり、神様のなさることは人の想像を超えているのだと思わされます。

 

 

ヤコブの訴えの前提~神の愛とイエスの御業

 

さて、今日の箇所はキリスト者としての生き方を教えています。ヤコブは、教会に集う人たちに向けて、「知恵にふさわしい柔和な行い」を、良い振舞いによって示すように訴えています。このような訴えだけを読むと、聖書が道徳の教科書のように思えてしまうかもしれません。ですので、この訴えの前提となっていることを合わせて覚えましょう。それは救い主イエス・キリストの存在です。

 

イエス様は貧しい人々、弱さを抱えた人々、重荷を負わされ、虐げられた人々と共に生きた方です。そのような人々を祝福し、神様による新たな支配の到来を告げました。いくつもの奇跡を起こし、神様の御業を行い、その御心を語り伝えたイエス様は、妬みと利己心に捕らわれた指導者たちによって十字架に架けられ、命を奪われました。

 

けれども神様は、十字架の死から3日目にイエス様をよみがえらせ、それによって私たちへの愛を示されました。伝道者パウロはそのことを受けてこのように語ります。

 

「それで今や、わたしたちはキリストの血によって義とされたのですから、キリストによって神の怒りから救われるのは、なおさらのことです。」(ローマの信徒への手紙5:9)

 

イエス・キリストは、私たちのために死んでくださったのです。その十字架において、私たちの罪も、私たちが負わされる重荷も、すべてを担われました。それによって、もはや神の怒りが私たちに向けられることはありません。私たちが罪に定められることもありません。神様はもはや私たちを見捨てることはありませんし、この世のどんなものであっても、キリストの愛から私たちを引き離すことはできません。

 

教会に集まる私たちは、誰もが神様からの招きを受けています。私たちは「神に選ばれ、聖なる者とされ、愛されて」(ローマ3:12)います。主なる神様は、「キリストの平和があなたがたの心を支配」し、「この平和にあずからせるために」、私たちを招いたのです(ローマ3:15)。

 

ヤコブもイエス様の十字架を知り、神様との間に平和を得ました。そしてそのことは、彼が手紙を送った教会の人たちと共有していたことでした。このような神様の愛と、イエス・キリストの御業への感謝が、この手紙の訴えの前提となっているのです。

 

 

罪の奴隷と義の奴隷

 

イエス様は私たちの罪を担ってくださいました。そのおかげで、私たちは「罪に定められることはありません」(ローマ8:1)。それにもかかわらず、私たちはいまだ罪に捕らわれています。ヤコブが手紙を送った教会の中でも、妬みを抱いたり、利己的になったり、自慢したり、嘘をついたりすることが目立っていたようです。そのために教会の中で対立が起こったり、人と人とが分け隔てられたりしていました。

 

私たちは妬みや利己心に容易に捕われてしまいます。私自身もそうです。自分にはない能力や魅力をもった人を見て妬ましく思いますし、自分のことでいっぱいになってしまいます。ヤコブは、そんな教会の様子を聞き、心を痛めたのでしょう。イエス様に結ばれた人々は、罪から解放されて生きるのではないか、と彼は問いかけたのです。

 

神様の愛を知り、イエス様の御業を知りながら、このような生き方をさせるような知恵は、「地上のもの、この世のもの、悪魔から出たもの」(3:15)だと、ヤコブは批判します。なぜなら、「妬みや利己心のあるところには、混乱やあらゆる悪い行いがあるからです」(3:16)。

 

罪から自由になるか否か、という選択であれば、誰もが罪からの自由を選ぶだろうと想像します。しかしそうならないのは、パウロの言葉を借りれば、私たちは「罪に仕える奴隷」となるか、「神に従順に仕える奴隷」となるか、そのいずれかだからです(ローマ6:16)。

 

罪の奴隷であるときも、ある意味では自由なのです。その自由は義に対する自由です。罪の奴隷であるときには、神様の言葉や思いは無視して、自分の想いやこの世の価値観だけで生きています。そのときには、自分が捕らわれているとは感じず、むしろ自由だと感じるかもしれません。

 

けれども、その生活がどんな実りを生んだのか、とパウロは問いかけます。「それらの行き着くところは、死にほかならない」(ローマ6:21)。罪が支払う報酬に満足しているなら、そこから解放されたいとは望みません。しかし、その実りが私の望むものではなかったと気付いたなら、あるいは神様が与えてくださる賜物の素晴らしさに気づかされたならば、それを望むようになるでしょう。

 

イエス様は罪の奴隷であった私たちを解放することで、私たちが自分自身を主人として生きるようにさせるわけではありません。イエス様は、罪の奴隷であり続ける代わりに、私たちを義の奴隷――神様に従順に仕える者――とならせるのです。

 

パウロはこのようにも語ります。

「わたしは、自分の内には、つまりわたしの肉には、善が住んでいないことを知っています。善をなそうという意志はありますが、それを実行できないからです。わたしは自分の望む善は行わず、望まない悪を行っている。もし、わたしが望まないことをしているとすれば、それをしているのは、もはやわたしではなく、わたしの中に住んでいる罪なのです。」(ローマ7:18~20)

 

私たちは自分だけで善を行うこと、罪から自由になることができません。そんな弱さをもつ私たちを罪から自由にするのは、私たちの罪を担い、新しい生き方に従順に従うことへと招くイエス・キリストです。

 

 

柔和なイエスに学ぶ

 

ヤコブは、妬みや利己心から出る知恵とは別の、もう一つの知恵があると語ります。それは「上から出た知恵」(3:17)、つまり神様から出た知恵です。その知恵はイエス様の御業と御言葉によって現わされたものです。それは「何よりもまず純真で、更に、温和で、優しく、従順なもの」であり、「憐れみと良い実に満ちて」おり、偏見はなく、偽善的でも」ない、といいます(3:17)。

 

純真であるとは、神様に一心に向かうことです。周りの人を見て妬み深くなるのでもなく、自分のことばかり考えて利己的になるのでもありません。神様の御言葉を聞き、神様が私を愛し、私に恵みを与えてくださったこと、この世を愛し、この世に平和をもたらそうとしておられることに基づく知恵は、柔和なものとなります。

 

温和で優しく、従順なその知恵は、戦いや争いとは対極のものです。それは目に見える暴力がないというだけではなく、誰かを犠牲にしたり、誰かから奪い取ったりすることも好みません。その知恵は憐れみと良い実に満ちており、「『隣人を自分のように愛しなさい』という最も尊い律法」(ヤコブ2:8)を大切にします。誰かが困っていたり、弱っていたりするときに、その人にも心を配り、共に生きようとするのです。

 

私たちはこのような知恵をイエス様を通して学びます。イエス様は、真に柔和なお方だからです。マタイ福音書11章28~30節で、イエス様はこのように呼びかけられました。

 

「疲れた者、重荷を負う者は、だれでもわたしのもとに来なさい。休ませてあげよう。わたしは柔和で謙遜な者だから、わたしの軛を負い、わたしに学びなさい。そうすれば、あなたがたは安らぎを得られる。わたしの軛は負いやすく、わたしの荷は軽いからである。」

 

イエス様は、この世の知恵、悪魔の知恵によって疲れ果て、重荷を負わされた人たちをご自身のもとへ招きます。「誰でもわたしのもとに来ていい」、とイエス様はおっしゃいます。そこには何の条件もありません。誰であっても、どんな状態であっても、イエス様のもとに来ていいのです。イエス様に休ませてもらい、安らぎを得ていいのです。

 

ただ、そこでの休息は、軛を降ろすものではありません。私たちは自分の人生を自分の肩から降ろすことはできません。自分の人生は、自分で負うしかないのです。そこでイエス様は軛を降ろす代わりに、イエス様の軛を負うことを勧めます。軛というのは、二頭の雄牛をつないで一対にするための道具のことです。

 

それは、イエス様が私たちの隣に並んで、私たちが負わされた重荷を一緒に引っ張ってくださるということです。イエス様の軛は負いやすい軛。それは負担の少ない軛のことです。隣を歩いてくださるイエス様は私たちを責めたり、傷つけたりすることなく、私たちが負わされたものを担い、自分の人生の重荷に耐えられるように、助け、支えてくださいます。

 

そして、「わたしの軛を負い、わたしに学びなさい」とイエス様はおっしゃいます。ただ担ってもらうだけではないのです。私たちは一緒に軛を負い、隣りを歩いてくださるイエス様から学ぶのです。何を学ぶのか。それは、イエス様の柔和さであり、神様の知恵です。

 

イエス様から学び続け、イエス様に目を向け続けるならば、私たちにも神様は良い実を蒔き、育ててくださるでしょう。私たちの心も、たとえ少しずつであっても、柔和なものとされていくでしょう。神様はそんな私たちを顧み、さらに豊かな恵みを与え、私たちを高めてくださるでしょう。そして私たちを通して神様の平和が実現されていくならば、それはなんと素晴らしいことでしょうか。

 

牧師:杉山望


July, 18th, 2021  Sunday Service

"Faith with Good Deeds"

Scripture reading is taken from James 3:13-18

 

Online Joint Worship Service with Tokushima Church

 

Today we are having an online joint service with Tokushima Christ Church. We received an offer from Tokushima Church in August last year, but we could not do it because of the spread of corona infections in Kanazawa at that time. I thank the Lord that we are given the opportunity to worship together, even though it has been postponed for almost a year.

 

For me, Tokushima Church is the church I attended from the time I was one year old until I was in the first grade of elementary school. There are some similarities between Tokushima Church and Kanazawa Church. For example, both of them is the only Japan Baptist Convention church in the prefecture where it is located. They are also similar in that they have recently constructed a church building (the one in Tokushima was completed in 2017 and the one in Kanazawa in 2018) although they have few members. Another thing they have in common is that the pastors for both churches have the same name, Sugiyama.

 

Pastor Izumi Sugiyama of Tokushima Church is my sister, but we are not very similar. Our personalities are almost completely opposite, so you can imagine what my sister is like by imagining the personality opposite to mine. Even so, it is a wonder that each of us had God's calling to become a pastor, and it makes me realize that what God does is beyond human imagination.

 

 

The Premise of James' Complaint - God's Love and the Work of Jesus

 

Today's passage teaches us how to live as a Christian. James is appealing to those who gather at church to demonstrate "deeds done in the humility that comes from wisdom" by their good behavior. If we only read this appeal, we might think that the Bible is a moral textbook. So, let us also remember the premise of this appeal. It is the existence of the Savior Jesus Christ.

 

He is the one who lived with the poor, the weak, the burdened and the oppressed. He blessed those people and announced the arrival of God's new rule. Jesus, who performed many miracles, did God's work, and shared His will, was crucified by leaders who were caught up in envy and selfishness.

 

However, God showed His love for us by raising Jesus on the third day after His death on the cross. Paul, the evangelist, responded to this by saying:

 

"Since we have now been justified by his blood, how much more shall we be saved from God’s wrath through him!" (Romans 5:9)

 

Jesus Christ died for us. On the cross, He carried all of our sins and all of our burdens. So that the wrath of God is no longer directed at us. We are no longer condemned. God will no longer abandon us, and nothing in the world can separate us from the love of Christ.

 

All of us who gather in the church have been invited by God. We are, "as God’s chosen people, holy and dearly loved" (Colossians 3:12). The Lord God has invited us so that we "let the peace of Christ rule" in our hearts and "were called to peace" (Colossians 3:15).

 

James also came to know the cross of Jesus and found peace with God. And this was something he shared with the people in the church to whom he sent the letter. His gratitude for this kind of love of God and the work of Jesus Christ is the premise of the appeal of this letter.

 

 

Slaves of Sin and Slaves of Righteousness

 

Jesus took our sins upon Himself. "Therefore, there is now no condemnation" (Romans 8:1) for us. Nonetheless, we are still trapped in sin. Among the churches to which James sent his letter, envy, selfishness, boasting, and lying seemed to be prominent. This was causing conflicts within the churches and separating members from each other.

 

It is easy for us to get caught up in envy and selfishness. I myself am no different. We get jealous and become preoccupied with ourselves when we see people who have abilities and talents that we do not have. James must have been heartbroken when he heard about such a situation in the churches. That is why he asked the church members, "People who are united to Jesus should live free from sin, shouldn't they?"

 

James criticizes the wisdom that would lead people who know God's love and know the work of Jesus, to live in such a way that "is earthly, unspiritual, demonic. For where you have envy and selfish ambition, there you find disorder and every evil practice." (3:15-16).

 

I would imagine that if the choice is whether to be free from sin or not, everyone would choose to be free from sin. However, it is not always the case because, in Paul's words, we are either "slaves to sin" or "to obedience" (Romans 6:16).

 

Even when we are slaves to sin, we can be free in a sense because we do not feel obligated to be righteous. When we are slaves to sin, we ignore God's words, and live only according to our own thoughts and the values of this world. In this way of living, we may not feel trapped, but rather free.

 

However, Paul says, "What benefit did you reap at that time from the things you are now ashamed of? Those things result in death!" (Romans 6:21). If we are satisfied with the benefit we get from sin, we have no desire to be freed from it. But if we realize that the benefit is not what we want, or if we are made aware of the wonderful gifts God gives us, then we will desire the gifts.

 

By freeing us from the slavery of sin, Jesus does not make us the rulers of our own lives. Instead of leaving us as slaves to sin, Jesus makes us slaves of righteousness - obedient servants of God.

 

Paul also tells us:

"For I know that good itself does not dwell in me, that is, in my sinful nature. For I have the desire to do what is good, but I cannot carry it out. For I do not do the good I want to do, but the evil I do not want to do—this I keep on doing. Now if I do what I do not want to do, it is no longer I who do it, but it is sin living in me that does it." (Romans 7:18-20)

 

We cannot do good and be free from sin on our own. It is Jesus Christ, who bears our sins and invites us to obediently follow His new way of living, setting us free from our sins.

 

 

Learning from Gentle Jesus

 

James tells us that there is another kind of wisdom that is different from the wisdom from envy and selfishness. It is "the wisdom that comes from heaven" (3:17), that is, the wisdom that comes from God. This wisdom is manifested through the works and words of Jesus. It is "first of all pure; then peace-loving, considerate, submissive, full of mercy and good fruit, impartial and sincere" (3:17).

 

To be pure is to be single-mindedly focused on God. It does not mean being jealous of those around us, nor does it mean being selfish and thinking only of ourselves. Wisdom will be gentle if we listen to God's words that He loves us and has given us grace. He also loves the world and wants to bring peace to the world.

 

This wisdom, which is mild, gentle, and obedient, is the opposite of fighting and strife. It is not only free of visible violence, but it also does not intend to sacrifice anyone or take anything from anyone. This wisdom is full of compassion and good fruits, and it values "the royal law found in Scripture, “Love your neighbor as yourself”" (James 2:8). When someone is in need or weak, this wisdom leads us to care about them and try to live with them.

 

We learn this kind of wisdom through Jesus. Jesus is truly gentle. In Matthew 11:28-30, Jesus called out to us: 

 

"Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light."

 

Jesus invites those who are weary and burdened by the wisdom of the world and the devil to come to Him. Jesus says, "Come to me, all". There are no conditions. Anyone can come to Jesus, no matter who they are, no matter what their condition is. Anyone can rest and be at peace with Jesus.

 

However, resting does not mean taking off a yoke. We cannot get rid of our responsibilities. We must be responsible for our own lives. So instead of taking off the yoke, Jesus encourages us to take up His yoke. The yoke is a tool used to connect two bulls to make a pair.

 

It means that Jesus will walk side by side with us, helping to carry our burdens. Jesus' yoke is easy to bear and less stressful. Jesus, who walks beside us, does not condemn us, or hurt us. He helps and supports us so that we can carry what has been laid on us and bear the burdens of our own lives.

 

Jesus says, "Take my yoke upon you and learn from me". It is not just about Him carrying a yoke. We are to learn from Jesus who takes the yoke with us and walks beside us. What do we learn? It is the humility of Jesus and the wisdom of God.

 

If we continue to learn from Jesus and keep our eyes on Him, God will sow seeds and grow good fruit in us. Our hearts will also be made gentle, even if it is only little by little. God will look at us and give us more abundant blessings to build us up. What a wonderful thing it would be if God's peace could be realized through us.

 

 

Pastor Nozomu Sugiyama