· 

『助けがあったからこそ』使徒言行録9章10~19節

Monika RobakによるPixabayからの画像

神学校週間

 

連盟では、先週から本日までの期間を「神学校週間」としています。先週の礼拝でアピールをしていただいたように、3つの神学校のことと、そこで学んでいる神学生のことをこの期間に覚えます。そして神学生の奨学金として用いられる神学校献金を献げます。

 

けれども、ここ数年で神学生となる人はとても減ってしまいました。福岡の西南学院大学神学部に限っていえば、一昨年と昨年の入学者は0人、今年は1人でした。在学中の8名のうち、5名は今年度で卒業予定です。ちなみに、西南の神学寮には単身者用の部屋が21部屋、家族用の部屋が14部屋あります。10数年前には、神学寮に入りきれないほどの神学生がいましたが、現在はその2割ほどしか使うことができません。

 

東京バプテスト神学校や九州バプテスト神学校で学ぶ神学生や、他教派の神学校で学び、バプテスト連盟の牧師となる方も増えていますから、全体としてはもう少し献身者はいます。それでも、献身する人が減っていることは明らかです。

 

献身者が減った理由ははっきりしていません。これは他教派でも起こっていることなので、バプテスト独自の課題ではないかもしれません。おそらくいくつかの要因が関連しているのでしょう。

 

私も理由を色々と想像していますが、同時に、自分はどうだったのか、ということも考えます。私が献身を決意したのは12年前の夏でした。なぜ私は牧師になることを目指して、神学校に行こうと思ったのか。そのことを考えてみたのです。

 

 

献身の背後にある出会いと助け

 

私は父が西南の神学生だったときに生まれました。物心ついたときには父が牧師でした。ですから、牧師という働きも、西南の神学校も、身近なものに感じられました。日本社会ではお寺のイメージが強いために、学校や職場で私の親が牧師だと知った人は、ほとんど例外なく、私に「将来は跡を継ぐのか」と尋ねました。そのため、「牧師になるか」という問いは、何度も私に向けられていました。

 

ただ、その問いに対して、私はいつも「牧師になるつもりはない」と答えていました。自分が牧師という働きに向いているとは思いませんでした。人前で話しをすることは絶対に避けたいことでした。牧師にならない理由はいくつも出すことができましたが、牧師になる理由は一つもありませんでした。

 

そんな私が献身し、牧師になるための学びを始めたのはなせか。振り返って考えると、そこにたくさんの助けがあったからこそだと思うのです。中学・高校では部活のためにめったに礼拝に出ませんでしたが、そこに居場所を作り、待っていてくれる教会の人たちがいました。奉仕の場を与え、一緒に歩んでくれる人たちがいました。

 

人見知りが激しく、地方連合の集まりから離れていた私を、そこに繋げてくれたのは、今、徳島教会で牧師をしている姉でした。そこで出会った仲間たちがいたからこそ、キリスト者として生きていく決心と、福音を伝えようとする思いとが与えられました。他の教会の牧師とも出会う機会があり、声をかけてもらったからこそ、改めて「牧師になる」という問いへの答えを考えることができました。

 

福岡の神学校に行くことは、経済的に大きな負担を伴いますが、神学校献金によって支えられる奨学金があったことで、その道へ歩みだすことができました。学費だけでなく、生活費としての奨学金もあり、また母教会と研修教会からも毎月、支援をいただきました。お金だけでなく、それ以上の祈りによって支えられ、また色んな場に招いてもらってたくさんの経験もさせてもらいました。

 

そのように考えると、献身というのは一人で起こされるものではないのでしょう。一人の人が生まれ、成長し、生きていくために、様々な出会いがあり、たくさんの助けを必要としているのと同じように、一人の献身の背後にも様々な出会いがあり、たくさんの助けがあるのです。そしてその一つひとつに、主の導きと助けがあったことを感じます。

 

 

伝道者パウロ(サウロ)の選び

 

そのことは、新約聖書に多くの手紙を残した伝道者パウロにも当てはまります。彼の名前はヘブライ語ではサウロと読まれます。サウロは熱心なユダヤ教徒であり、誕生したばかりのキリスト教会にとって最も危険な敵の一人でした。

 

彼は「家から家へと押し入って教会を荒らし、男女を問わず引き出して牢に送って」いました(使徒8:3)。さらには「主の弟子たちを脅迫し、殺そうと意気込んで」、「男女を問わずに縛り上げ、エルサレムに連行するため」にダマスコという町へ向かいました(使徒9:1-2)。

 

ところが、ダマスコへと向かう途上で、突然、天からの光がサウロの周りを照らしました。サウロは地面に倒れ、「「サウル、サウル、なぜわたしを迫害するのか」と呼びかける声を聞きました。それは、サウロが迫害していた主イエスの声でした。

 

サウロは目が見えなくなり、手を引いてもらってダマスコの町へと入りました。そして3日間、目が見えず、食べることも飲むこともできずにいました。誰よりも活発に、激しく動き回っていたサウロでしたが、今や幼い子どものように、無力な姿になりました。

 

そのサウロに、主は一人の助け手を送ります。それはダマスコに暮らしていた弟子の一人であるアナニアでした。幻の中でアナニアは、ユダの家にいるサウロという名の者を訪ね、彼の上に手を置いて、元通り目が見えるようにするように、と主から告げられました。

 

始め、アナニアはそれを拒みました。彼はサウロがエルサレムでどんな悪事を働いたか、どのように教会を迫害し、どれだけの人が捕らえたか、ということを大勢の人から聞いていたからです。けれども主はアナニアに「行け」と命じます。なぜなら、サウロは異邦人に主の名を伝えるために、主が選んだ器なのだから、と。

 

アナニアはサウロの元へ行き、彼の上に手を置いてこう言いました。「兄弟サウル、あなたがここに来る途中に現れてくださった主イエスは、あなたが元どおり目が見えるようになり、また、聖霊で満たされるようにと、わたしをお遣わしになったのです」(使徒9:17)。

 

アナニアは敵であったサウロのことを「兄弟サウル」と呼びました。アナニアの祈りによって、サウロの目からうろこのようなものが落ち、彼は元どおり見えるようになりました。そこでサウロはバプテスマを受け、食事をして元気を取り戻しました。彼にバプテスマを授け、共に食事をした者たちもいたことでしょう。

 

遡れば、彼はタルソスという町で生まれ、ローマの市民権をもっていたことが、各都市での活動に役立ちました。エルサレムではガマリエル1世から教育を受ける機会もありました。後にはバルナバによって見いだされ、彼と共に宣教旅行に行きました。バルナバと別れてからも、サウロには同行者がおり、各地で彼を支える人もいました。

 

サウロは一人で伝道者になったのではありません。彼もまた多くの出会いと助けがあったからこそ、伝道者としての使命を担うことができました。彼を選んだ主の選びは、彼を助ける人々の選びともつながっていたのでしょう。

 

 

献身の輪につながる

 

献身は個人の所有物ではありません。献身者は一人で出るのではなく、多くの助けの中で送り出されるものです。主はご自身の器として私たちを様々な場で用い、それぞれに使命を与えられます。ただその選びは、主と私たちの間の個人的な関係の中でなされるものではなくて、多くの人を通してなされていくのです。助けがあったからこそ、私たちは今があります。助けがあったからこそ、献身者は起こされてきたのです。

 

金沢にいる私たちは、神学生と顔を合わせる機会はなかなかありません。けれども、神学校献金を通して、私たちは神学生の献身を助け、その献身の輪に繋がります。主の呼びかけに応えて、牧師として仕えていこうとする人々と共に、私たちも神様の召命に応えていくのです。

 

牧師:杉山望


July, 4th, 2021  Sunday Service

"Because of the Help"

Scripture reading is taken from Acts 9:10-19 

 

Seminary Week 

 

At Japan Baptist Convention (JBC), we have designated the period from last week to today as "Seminary Week". As Taguchi-sensei mentioned in last week's worship service, we take this time to remember the three JBC seminaries and the seminary students who are studying there. We also give the “Seminary Offerings”, which is used to fund scholarships for these seminary students. 

 

However, in the last few years the number of seminary students has decreased greatly. In the case of the faculty of theology at Seinan Gakuin University in Fukuoka, there were no seminary students enrolled last year or the year before last year. As of this year, only one student entered the faculty of theology. Of the eight students currently enrolled, five are due to graduate this year (next spring). I would also like to add that the Seinan Gakuin seminary dormitory in Fukuoka has 21 single rooms and 14 apartment-type dorms. Ten years ago, there were more seminary students than the dormitory rooms, but now only about 20% of the rooms are used.

 

If you consider the seminary students at Tokyo Baptist Theological Seminary, Kyushu Baptist Theological Seminary, and other seminary students who graduated from seminaries of other Christian denominations and serve the JBC churches, we have more than eight people who are training to go into ministry. Yet, the number of people who have been called into ministry and go to seminary is decreasing.

 

The reason for this decline is not clear. This may not be an issue just for JBC because other denominations are experiencing the same situation. Perhaps there are several factors involved.

 

I personally can imagine many reasons, but at the same time, this has caused me to think back to what it was like for me. God called me to seminary, and I answered “yes” one summer, twelve years ago. Why did I go to seminary with a call toward pastoral ministry? Please allow me to share my experience.

 

 

The encounters and help supporting one’s call to ministry

 

I was born when my father was a seminary student at Seinan Gakuin. Ever since I can remember, my father was a pastor. So, the work of a pastor and Seinan Gakuin seminary was familiar to me. When people at school or work found out my father was a pastor, because temples are more common in Japanese society, almost without exception, people would ask me, “Will you follow your father’s footsteps in the future?” In other words, the question, “Will you be a pastor?” was directed at me many times.

 

However, I always answered, “No. I am not going to be a pastor.” I did not think I was suited for pastoral ministry. Speaking in front of people was something I wanted to avoid. I had many reasons for not being a pastor. There was not a single reason for me to become a pastor.

 

So why did I answer my call to go into ministry and study to become a pastor? When I look back, I think it was because of all the help I received. In junior and senior high school, I seldom attended worship services because of school club activities. But there was always someone at church who made a place for me there and waited for me. There were people in the church who gave me a place to serve and took the time to walk with me. 

 

My older sister, who is now the pastor of Tokushima Church, was one of the persons who connected me with the fellowship of the churches in the same region when I was too shy to go out to the regional meetings. There I met friends that encouraged me to fully live my life as a Christian, and that is also where I was called to God’s ministry to proclaim the good news. I also had the opportunity to meet pastors from other churches, and it was through such encounters and encouragement that I was able to rethink the question, “Will you be a pastor?”. 

 

Going to the seminary in Fukuoka was a huge financial burden, but thanks to a scholarship supported by the “Seminary Offerings”, I was able to pursue that path without worrying about tuition fees. The scholarship also provided for living expenses as well. My home church and training/mentoring church also supported me monthly. However, I was supported not only financially, but more importantly by prayer. Being invited into different ministries in various places and being given many experiences also helped me through seminary.

 

This may be just my experience, but I believe that for a person to go into ministry, it is not something that happens alone. When a person is born, they encounter many things and need help to grow and live. In the same way, one’s call into ministry is supported by many encounters and countless help. And along each step, God is also there to guide and help.

 

 

Paul (Saul), chosen to proclaim the Good News

 

God’s guidance and help was also provided to Paul, who proclaimed the Good News and left many letters that make up the New Testament. His name is read “Saul” in Hebrew. Saul was a committed Jew and was one of the most dangerous enemies of the newly born Christian church at the time.

 

Acts chapter 8 and 9 describe Saul’s actions as follows. “…Saul began to destroy the church. Going from house to house, he dragged off both men and women and put them in prison.” (Acts 8:3/New International Version (NIV)) “…Saul was still breathing out murderous threats against the Lord’s disciples. He went to the high priest and asked him for letters to the synagogues in Damascus, so that if he found any there who belonged to the Way, whether men or women, he might take them as prisoners to Jerusalem.” (Acts 9:1-2/ NIV) This is why he was heading to Damascus.

 

But on the way to Damascus, suddenly a light from heaven shone around Saul. Saul fell to the ground and heard a voice calling out to him, "Saul, Saul, why do you persecute me?” (Acts 9:4/ NIV) It was the voice of the Lord Jesus, whom Saul had been persecuting.

 

Saul became blind and was led by the hand into the city of Damascus. For three days he was blind and could neither eat nor drink. Saul, who had been a highly active and fierce person, now was as helpless as a little child.

 

This is when the Lord sends a person to help Saul. Ananias was one of the disciples in Damascus. He was called by the Lord in a vision to go to a man named Saul in the house of Judas and to lay his hands on that man so that he could see again. 

 

At first, Ananias refused to answer this call because he had heard from many people of the evil that Saul had done in Jerusalem—how he had persecuted the church and how many people were taken as prisoners. But nonetheless, the Lord tells Ananias, “Go!” (Acts 9:15/ NIV) for Saul is the chosen instrument that the Lord had chosen to proclaim God’s name to the Gentiles. 

 

Ananias went to where Saul was, laid his hands on him and said, “Brother Saul, the Lord-Jesus, who appeared to you on the road as you were coming here- has sent me so that you may see again and be filled with the Holy Spirit.” (Acts 9:17/ NIV)

 

Ananias called Saul, who was his enemy, “Brother Saul”. Through Ananias’ prayer, something like scales fell from Saul’s eyes and he was able to see again. There, Saul was baptized, fed, and restored his health. There must have been many others with them when Saul was baptized and fed.

 

If you look back on Saul’s life, he was born in Tarsus and had a Roman citizenship, which helped him to work in the cities he worked in. When he was in Jerusalem, he had a chance to study under Gamaliel. He was later discovered by Barnabas and went on a missionary journey with him. Even after separating with Barnabas, Saul had much company and help in many places.

 

In other words, Saul did not proclaim the Good News alone. He too was able to participate in God’s mission because of the encounters with many people and the help he received from them. When God chose Saul, God must have also chosen those who helped him. So that those who helped could also join in God's ministry through supporting Saul.

 

 

Join the call to God’s ministry

 

One’s call to God’s ministry is not a personal possession. Those who respond to God’s calling and head to seminary are not sent out alone, but with the help of many others. The Lord uses each of us as chosen instruments in various situations and calls us to God’s ministry to serve those around us and tell others about Jesus. The choice to follow is not merely made through an individual, personal relationship between the Lord and us, but through many people. We are who we are because of the many help we receive. It is because of this help that those who are called into ministry could answer their calling.

 

As we are in Kanazawa, we do not have many opportunities to meet the seminary students. However, through the “Seminary Offerings”, we are helping them answer their calling and joining in the call to God’s ministry with them. Let us respond to God's call to ministry together with those who are preparing for the ministry now.

 

Pastor Nozomu Sugiyama