· 

『復活の主に出会える場所』マルコによる福音書16章1~8節

CouleurによるPixabayからの画像

最初に復活を告げられた女性たち

 

今年もイースターの日を迎えました。イースターは、十字架で死なれたイエス・キリストが三日目によみがえられたことを記念する日です。教会にとっては、一年でも最も大切な記念日の一つですが、昨年は新型コロナウイルスの感染拡大を受けて、イースターの日から会堂に集まらずに礼拝をするようになりました。今年は会堂に集まり、共に復活の主を礼拝することができることを、神様に感謝いたします。

 

イエス様の復活の出来事は、四つの福音書に書かれていますが、それぞれに違いがあります。それは、そのどれかが正しくて、他のものが間違っているということではありません。それぞれの福音書を書いた人たちが強調して伝えようとしたことの違いが、復活の記事の違いとなって表れています。

 

違いがある中でも、共通していることの一つは、イエス様の復活を最初に知らされ、復活されたイエス様に最初に出会ったのが女性たちであった、ということです。特にマグダラのマリアはどの福音書でも名前が挙げられています。マリアたちはイエス様が十字架に架けられたときも、最後までその姿を見守っており、遺体を墓に納めるときも、その場所まで付き従っていました。そのマリアたちに神の使いが現れ、イエス様の復活を告げました。

 

イエス様の十二弟子は全員男性でしたが、イエス様に従い、イエス様に仕えた人たちの中には多くの女性たちがいました。男女の役割が明確に分けられた時代でしたから、女性と男性が同じことをしていたわけではありません。それでも、そのどちらもがイエス様の弟子と呼ぶべき存在あり、イエス様の復活は、イエス様に仕え続けたマリアたちに最初に伝えられたのでした。

 

 

人が生きる場に来られたイエス

 

マリアたちは、イエス様の遺体に油を塗るために墓へやってきました。墓は大きな石で閉じられていたため、墓を誰に開けてもらえばいいか、と話し合いながら歩いていました。ところが、彼女たちが墓につくと、既に石はわきへ転がしてありました。驚きながら墓の中に入ると、神の使いが中に座っていて、マリアたちにこのように告げました。

 

「驚くことはない。あなたがたは十字架につけられたナザレのイエスを捜しているが、あの方は復活なさって、ここにはおられない。御覧なさい。お納めした場所である。さあ、行って、弟子たちとペトロに告げなさい。『あの方は、あなたがたより先にガリラヤへ行かれる。かねて言われたとおり、そこでお目にかかれる』と。」(16:6-7)

 

マリアたちが捜したのは「ナザレのイエス」であり、このお方は先に「ガリラヤへ行かれる」、と神の使いは告げました。ナザレとは、ガリラヤ地方にある、イエス様の故郷の村です。ガリラヤとは、イエス様の宣教活動の中心地であり、マリアやペトロたち――イエス様の弟子たちが生活していた場所です。そこは、弟子たちがイエス様と出会ったところであり、イエス様が人々を癒し、力を与え、共に食事をし、交わりをもったところです。

 

神の使いは、そこで復活されたイエス様にお目にかかれる、と告げました。イエス様に出会える場所は、特別な場所ではありません。私たちが生きる世界、その日々の生活の中で、イエス様に出会うことができるのです。イエス様は私たちが生きるその場所に来られる方だからです。

 

 

闇に降り、人を愛する主

 

ガリラヤとは、決して光り輝く土地ではなく、闇に覆われるところでもありました。そこには病や重荷を負わされた人がいました。飢え渇いている人もいました。罪人と呼ばれ、神様の祝福から遠ざけられた人もいました。居場所を失った人もいました。抑圧の中で自由と解放を求める人もいました。ガリラヤは、苦しみ、あるいは悲しみ、あるいは痛み、あるいは恐れる人がいるところでした。

 

私たちは、イエス様が出会った人たちの誰かの中に自分の姿を見つけることができるでしょう。また、ガリラヤを覆っていた闇を、今の社会の中に見出すこともできるでしょう。特に、社会の中心にではなく、社会の周縁に、ガリラヤでイエス様が出会われた人々のような姿、ガリラヤを覆っていたような闇を見出すことができるでしょう。

 

神の使いは、マリアたちが捜しているお方が「十字架につけられたナザレのイエス」であると言いました。復活されたイエスは、十字架につけられた方でした。イエス・キリストは、この世で闇が最も深いところまでも降り、私たちも含めたすべての人の重荷を負い、苦しみにも痛みにも触れ、悲しみと恐れに寄り添い、罪からの自由を与えるために、十字架につけられた方でした。

 

イエス様は、あなたが生きるその場所にもおられます。そこでイエス様に出会えます。あなたが闇に覆われるとき、重荷を負うとき、神様の祝福を失ったと思うとき、飢え渇くとき、抑圧されるとき、苦しみ、悲しみ、痛み、恐れるとき、そこには主がおられます。ガリラヤの人たちを愛し、祝福を与えたイエス様が、同じようにあなたをあなたを愛し、祝福を与えようとしておられるのです。

 

 

Footprints/あしあと

 

ただ、私たちはイエス様がおられることに気づかないこともあります。マーガレット・F・パワーズという方が書かれた「Footprints/あしあと」という詩が、そのことを教えてくれます。

 

~あしあと~

ある夜、わたしは夢を見た。

わたしは、主とともに、なぎさを歩いていた。

暗い夜空に、これまでのわたしの人生が映し出された。

どの光景にも、砂の上にふたりのあしあとが残されていた。

ひとつはわたしのあしあと、もう一つは主のあしあとであった。

 

これまでの人生の最後の光景が映し出されたとき、

わたしは、砂の上のあしあとに目を留めた。

そこには一つのあしあとしかなかった。

わたしの人生でいちばんつらく、悲しい時だった。

 

このことがいつもわたしの心を乱していたので、

わたしはその悩みについて主にお尋ねした。

「主よ。わたしがあなたに従うと決心したとき、

 あなたは、すべての道において、わたしとともに歩み、

 わたしと語り合ってくださると約束されました。

 それなのに、わたしの人生のいちばんつらい時、

 ひとりのあしあとしかなかったのです。

 いちばんあなたを必要としたときに、

 あなたが、なぜ、わたしを捨てられたのか、

 わたしにはわかりません。」

 

主は、ささやかれた。

「わたしの大切な子よ。

 わたしは、あなたを愛している。あなたを決して捨てたりはしない。

 ましてや、苦しみや試みの時に。

 あしあとがひとつだったとき、

 わたしはあなたを背負って歩いていた。」

 

マーガレット・F・パワーズ(松代恵美 訳)

translation copyright(C)1996 by Pacific Broadcasting Association

 

これは、イエス様があなたにも語りかけておられることであり、このようにイエス様はあなたと共に、あなたを背負って歩いておられるのです。

 

 

死に打ち勝つ勝利

 

イエス様は十字架で死なれたお方です。その死によって、誰もがイエス様がなされたこと、語られたことはもう終わったと思いました。敵対していた祭司長たちだけでなく、エルサレムの人々も、またガリラヤから従ってきた弟子たちも、イエス様の約束も、希望も、祝福も、全てが闇に覆われ、その物語は終わりを告げたのだと思いました。

 

ところが、死は終わりではありませんでした。神の使いはマリアたちにこう告げました。

 

「あの方は復活なさって、ここにはおられない。」(16:6)

 

イエス様は死から復活されたのです。復活は十字架の死に対する勝利でした。死に打ち勝つ勝利があり、闇を打ち破る光があることを、イエス様の復活が告げ知らせたのです。たとえ一時的に闇が覆うことがあったとしても、闇が究極的に勝利することはない。必ずや救いをもたらし、闇を打ち砕く、ということを、神様が宣言されたのです。

 

私たちが直面する現実が、どれほど過酷であり、困難なものであっても、それは人生やこの世界に対する最終的な答えではありません。神様は十字架での絶望的な死で終わりにはなさらないのです。全ての人がもう終わりだと思うところでさえ、神様は死からの復活を引き起こされます。この世で発せられる絶望の叫びに対する神様の応答は復活の希望です。それは死に対する勝利があり、闇を打ち砕く光がある、という希望です。

 

 

終わりのない物語

 

しかし、マリアたちもそれをすぐには受け止められず、墓を出て逃げ去っていきました。その後、マリアにも、また弟子たちにも復活の主が出会われ、希望を与えられ、教会が誕生していきます。

 

ただし、最初に書かれた段階では、マルコ福音書は16章8節で終わっていただろうと考えられています。マルコがそのような書き方をしたのは、イエス様の物語がまだ終わっていないことを伝えるためでした。

 

十字架の死は終わりではありませんが、イエス様の復活も本当の終わりではないのです。復活の主イエス・キリストに出会い、そこで弟子たちが新しく変えられ、そこから新たな物語が始まっていきます。そしてそのことは繰り返されるのです。

 

イエス様は今も生きておられ、私たちと出会い、この世に生きる人びとと出会ってくださいます。イエスの物語を終わったものとするのか、これからも続く希望の物語とするのか、ということは、私たちの応答に委ねられています。私たちも復活の主の希望に与ることが許されているのです。

 

 

牧師:杉山望 


April, 4th 2021  Sunday Service

" The Place Where We Can Meet the Risen Lord "

Scripture reading taken from Mark 16:1-8

 

Women who were first told that the Lord would be resurrected

 

Easter has come again this year. Easter is s day to commemorate the resurrection of Jesus Christ, who died on the cross on the third day. It is one of the most important anniversaries of the year for church, but last year, due to the spread of the coronavirus, we started worshiping instead of gathering in our church from Easter day. I will give thanks to God for being able to gather in the church this year and worship the resurrected Lord with all of you.

 

The event of Jesus' resurrection is described in the four Gospels, but each has its own differences. That doesn't mean that one is right and the others are wrong. The differences in what each Gospel writer emphasized and tried to convey is reflected in the differences in the resurrection articles.

 

Despite the differences, one thing they have in common is that women were the first to be informed of the resurrection of Jesus and to meet the resurrected Jesus first. Mary Magdalene, in particular, is mentioned in every Gospel. The Mary and the others watched Jesus until the end when he was crucified, and they followed him to the tomb when they put his body there. An angel of God appeared to them and announced the resurrection of Jesus.

 

All of Jesus' twelve disciples were men, but there were many women among those who obeyed Jesus and served him. It was a time when the roles of men and women were clearly separated. Nevertheless, both men and women should be called disciples of Jesus, and the resurrection of Jesus was first announced to Mary and the other women who continued to serve Jesus.

 

 

Jesus who came to where people live

 

Mary and the other women came to the tomb to pour oil over Jesus' body. The tomb was closed with a large stone, so they were discussing who they should ask to open the tomb while walking. However, when they arrived at the grave, the stone had already been rolled aside. They were surprised and entered the tomb, when a messenger of God was sitting inside and told the women:

 

“You are looking for Jesus the Nazarene, who was crucified. He has risen! He is not here. See the place where they laid him. But go, tell his disciples and Peter, ‘He is going ahead of you into Galilee. There you will see him, just as he told you.” (16: 6-7)

 

The messenger of God said that the women searched for “Jesus of Nazareth,” who would “go to Galilee” first. Nazareth is the home village of Jesus in the Galilee region. Galilee is the center of Jesus' ministry and the place where the disciples of Jesus including Mary and Peter lived. This is where the disciples met Jesus, Jesus healed and empowered people, and He ate and had fellowship together.

 

The messenger of God told them that they would meet Jesus there, where He was resurrected. The place where you can meet Jesus is not a special place. We can meet Jesus in the world we live in and in our daily lives because Jesus is the one who can come to where we live.

 

 

The Lord who descends into the darkness and loves people

 

Galilee was not a shining land, but a place covered in darkness. There were people who were ill or burdened. Some were hungry. Some were called sinners and were kept away from God's blessings. Some people lost their places. Some sought freedom and liberation in oppression. Galilee was where people were suffering, sad, hurt, or afraid.

 

We will be able to find ourselves in some of the people Jesus met. You can also find the darkness that covered Galilee in today's society. Especially, you will find people similar to ones Jesus met in Galilee and the darkness that covered Galilee, not in the center of society, but in the periphery of society.

 

The messenger of God said that the one Mary and the other women were looking for was "crucified Jesus of Nazareth". The resurrected Jesus was the one who was crucified. Jesus Christ descended to the deepest darkness in the world, beard the burden of all, including us, touched their suffering and pain, and snuggles up to their sadness and fear, and He was crucified to free people from sin.

 

Jesus is also in the place where you live. You can meet Jesus there. When you are covered in darkness, when you bear the burden, when you think you have lost God's blessing, when you are thirsty, when you are oppressed, or when you are suffering, sad, hurt or afraid, the Lord is there. Jesus, who loved and blessed the people of Galilee, also loves you and will bless you.

 

 

Footprints

 

However, we sometimes do not realize that Jesus is with us. The poem "Footprints" written by Margaret F. Powers tells us this.

 

FOOTPRINTS

One night I dreamed a dream.

I was walking along the beach with my Lord.

Across the dark sky flashed scenes from my life.

For each scene, I noticed two sets of footprints in the sand,

one belonging to me

and one to my Lord.

 

When the last scene of my life shot before me

I looked back at the footprints in the sand.

There was only one set of footprints.

I realized that this was at the lowest and saddest times in my life.

 

This always bothered me and I questioned the Lord about my dilemma.

"Lord, you told me when I decided to follow You,

You would walk and talk with me all the way.

But I'm aware that during the most troublesome times of my life there is only one set of footprints.

I just don't understand why, when I needed You most,

You leave me."

 

He whispered, "My precious child,

I love you and will never leave you

never, ever, during your trials and testings.

When you saw only one set of footprints

it was then that I carried you."

 

copyright(C)1964 by Margaret Fishback Powers

 

This is what Jesus is telling you, and in this way, Jesus is walking with you, carrying you on His back.

 

 

Victory to overcome death

 

Jesus is the one who died on the cross. With His death, everyone thought that what Jesus had done and what He had said was over. Not only the hostile chief priests, but also did the people of Jerusalem, the disciples who followed Jesus from Galilee think that Jesus' promises, hopes and blessings were all covered in darkness and the story ended. 

 

However, His death did not mean everything was over. The angel of God told Mary and the other women, "He has risen! He is not here.”

 

Jesus was resurrected from death. The resurrection was a victory over the death on the cross. The resurrection of Jesus announced that there is a victory to overcome death and a light to break through the darkness. God proclaimed that even if the darkness temporarily covers it, the darkness will not ultimately win, and that He will surely bring salvation and destroy the darkness.

 

No matter how harsh and difficult the reality we face is, it is not the final answer to life or this world. God does not end with the desperate death on the cross. God causes a resurrection from death, even where everyone thinks something is over. God's response to the cry of despair in this world is the hope of resurrection. It is the hope that there is a victory over death and a light that destroys the darkness.

 

 

Endless story

 

However, Maria and the others could not accept what they had been told immediately and fled from the tomb. After that, the resurrected Lord met Mary and her disciples, gave them hope, and the church was born.

 

When it was first written, however, it is believed that the Gospel of Mark would have ended at 16: 8. Mark wrote it that way to convey that the story of Jesus was not over yet.

 

The death on the cross is not the end, but the resurrection of Jesus is not the real end, either. Disciples meet Jesus Christ, the resurrected Lord, and there they are renewed, and a new story begins. And this cycle is repeated.

 

Jesus is still alive, and He meets us and people living in this world. It is up to our response to decide whether to end the story of Jesus or to make it a story of hope that will continue. We are also allowed to receive the hope of the resurrected Lord.

 

Pastor Nozomu Sugiyama