· 

『日常の中にある賜物』出エジプト記16章1-8節

Free-PhotosによるPixabayからの画像

メッセージ

不満の述べる人々

 

日本で新型コロナウイルスの感染が確認されてから1年が過ぎました。私たちはこの間、これまで当たり前だったことが、当たり前ではなくなっていくことを経験させられました。そして、これまで当たり前だと思っていたことが、実は大切なことであり、それ自体が恵みであり、賜物であったのだ、ということに気づかされてきました。

 

私たちは、特別な出来事に対しては、これが恵みであるとか、賜物であるということに気づきやすいのですが、それが日常的なことであると、それがあって当然のことだと思ってしまいます。本当はそこに神様の恵み・賜物があるのに、それを失うまで気づかずに過ごしてしまうことがあるのです。

 

イスラエルの民にとって信仰の基盤となっているのは、“出エジプト”という出来事です。エジプトで奴隷とされていた民は、過酷な労働を負わされ、命も奪われていく中で、助けを求める叫びをあげました。神様はその声を聞き、その民を顧み、心に留めました。そして、モーセとアロンを遣わして、様々な奇跡を起こし、イスラエルの全ての民をエジプトから脱出させられたのです。

 

エジプトを出て、約束の地へたどり着くまでの40年間、イスラエルの民は荒れ野で生活をしました。出エジプトの道のりには様々な奇跡がありました。初めは驚き、感謝した出来事も、彼ら・彼女らにとって次第に日常のこととなっていきました。

 

その奇跡の一つは、荒れ野で食べ物を与えたことです。荒れ野に旅立って程なくして、イスラエルの民は食糧危機に陥ります。定住生活から、乾燥して荒れ果てた土地へと出ていったのですから、それも無理はありません。民はモーセとアロンに向かって不平を言いました。

 

「我々はエジプトの国で、主の手にかかって、死んだ方がましだった。あのときは肉のたくさん入った鍋の前に座り、パンを腹いっぱい食べられたのに。あなたたちは我々をこの荒れ野に連れ出し、この全会衆を飢え死にさせようとしている。」(16:3)

 

 

日常の中にある恵みと賜物

 

イスラエルの民は奴隷でしたから、食糧は与えられていたかもしれません。それでもこの不平は過去の記憶をかなり美化したものだったでしょう。けれども神様はこの訴えを受け入れ、人々の必要を満たすことを告げました。それは彼ら・彼女らのために「天からパンを降らせる」というものでした。

 

翌朝、人々が目を覚ますと、テントの周りに露が降りていました。その露が蒸発すると、荒れ野の地表を「薄くて壊れやすいもの」が覆いました。それを集めると、ちょっと変わったパンを焼くことができました。そのパンは「蜜の入ったウェファースのような味」(16:31)がしました。イスラエルの民は、毎日、それぞれに必要な分だけを集めました。余分に集めても、翌朝までに虫が付いて食べられなくなりました。誰もが必要な分だけを集めることができました。イスラエルの民は、そのパンを“マナ”と呼びました。

 

私たちにとっても、またイスラエルの民にとっても、“マナ”は不思議なものです。しかし実は、現代のシナイ半島でも同じような自然現象が起こるようです。ある木の樹液を吸ったアブラムシの一種は、黄白色の分泌物を出します。それは地面に転がり落ち、夜に気温が下がると固まるので、朝には集めることができるようになります。それにはでんぷん質や糖分が豊富で、その土地に住む人たちは今でも甘味料として食べているそうです。

 

つまりこれは、荒れ野に生きる人たちにとって日常の出来事だったわけです。そしてイスラエルの民にとっても、40年間もマナを食べ続けますので、次第にこれが日常のこと――当たり前のこと――になっていきました。

 

大事なことは、それが自然現象や人の営みによって起こったことか、あるいはそれでは説明できないようなことか、ということではないと思うのです。海を二つに割ったり、火の柱や雲の柱が先に立って導いたりするような奇跡だけが神様のなさることではありません。この世界の自然の中にも、私たち人間が日々行うことの中にも神様の意志はあり、それらのことを通して神様は私たちにも、この世にも働きかけてくださっているのです。

 

イスラエルの民が自然現象であるマナによって神様に養われ、支えられたように、私たちも日常の中で神様からの恵みをいただき、神様の賜物を受け取っているのではないでしょうか。個人として受けることだけでなく、隣り人と共に、あるいは社会や国で、さらには人類として受けている様々なものによって、私たちは生かされているのです。

 

 

奇跡ばかりではない

先々週の日曜日、ある教会でも、新成人の祝福を祈るときをもっておられました。その中で、一人の新成人が、自分のこれまでのことを話していました。彼は神様ではなく、高校の担任や友人によって救われた、と言い、友情や日常の中に本当の安らぎがある、と言っていました。

 

私はその言葉を聞いて、神様に感謝しました。彼にも救われたと思える出会いがあり、日常の中で本当の安らぎを感じられる、と言っていたことを嬉しく思ったからです。私にはそれこそが、神様の恵みであり、賜物である、と思えるのです。

 

神様からのもの、というと、つい奇跡的な現象や出来事、あるいは神様の声が聞こえたりするようなことを思い浮かべてしまいます。もちろんそのようなこともありますが、神様の働きは、それだけに限定されていません。むしろ、私たちの日常の中で神様の想いが実現し、特殊なことが起こらなくても救われ、安らぎを感じられることの方が、多く起こっているのではないでしょうか。

 

イスラエルの民も、時折、奇跡としか言いようのない経験をしますが、その歴史のほとんどの時間は日常の繰り返しでした。聖書に書かれているのは、イスラエルの歴史のほんの一部に過ぎないのです。奇跡は特別な印として与えられますが、それは神様の恵みと賜物を受けるためには、必ずしも必要なことではないのです。

 

神様は私たちの日常生活に関わる細かな事柄にまで関心を寄せていてくださいます。そしてその中で、私たちへの愛を表してくださいます。そしてまた神様は、私たちがその日々の恵みや賜物を失ったり、奪われたりしていることにも思いを向け、それが回復し、取り戻されることを願っておられます。時には奇跡的な方法で、しかしほとんどの場合は奇跡的ではない方法で、私たちに働きかけてくださっているのです。

 

 

恵みと賜物への応答

 

この恵みと賜物は、共同体が守り、分かち合うものとして与えられました。誰もが「毎日必要な分だけを集める」ことができ、「多く集めた者も余ることなく、少なく集めた者も足りないことなく、それぞれが必要な分を集め」ることを神様は望んでおられます(出エジプト16:4,18)。この世界は、本来、そのように創られたのです。

 

それは神様の意志であると共に、神様から恵みと賜物をいただいた人間に与えられた責任でもあります。人々がその責任を積極的に果たすならば、この世は神様が創ろうとされた姿をより多く現すことができますし、その責任に対して消極的になるならば、この世は神様が怒り、悲しむような姿を現してしまうことでしょう。

 

その責任は、人の行動が関わってくる共同体の間で果たされるべきものでしょう。けれども現代はグローバル化が地球の隅々にまで広がりました。そして人類の行動が、地球の姿さえも変えてしまうほどの影響力を持ってしまいました。この地球には、人類を養い、支えるだけの十分な恵みと賜物が備えられていました。それを活用し、分かち合う力も人類には与えられました。

 

けれども今、世界で急激に進行し、私たちも影響を被っていることは、神様の恵みと賜物への責任を無視するようなことです。この世に住む誰一人であっても、取り残されることなく、神様の恵みと賜物を分かち合う権利があります。その権利は神様から与えられたものであり、人間がそれを奪ってはならないものです。

 

神様は、私たちを幸せにするために、私たちの日常の中に恵みと賜物を与えてくださいます。そしてそれは、私たちだけではなく、全ての人に――私たちが知らない人も含めた全ての人に――与えられるべきものです。神様は日常の必要を満たされない私たちの不平を聞いてくださいます。それと同じように、全ての人の不平を聞いてくださっています。そしてそれに応えるために、私たちにもその日常の中で神様の想いを学び、神様の言葉によって生きることを求めておられるのです。

 

牧師:杉山望


January, 24th 2021  Sunday Service

" The gifts we receive in our everyday lives "

Scripture reading taken from Exodus 16:1~8

 

People who complain

 

One year has passed since the infection of the new coronavirus was confirmed in Japan. During this time, we were made to experience that what was previously taken for granted can no longer taken for granted. And I have come to realize that what I took for granted until now was actually important, and that itself was a grace and a gift.

 

We tend to easily recognize grace or gift if it is in a special circumstance but take it for granted when it is a part of our daily routine. In reality we are constantly receiving God's grace and gift, but sometimes we would not notice it until we lose it.

 

The centre of faith for the Israelites is the event of "Exodus." The people, who had been enslaved in Egypt, screamed for help as they were forced to work hard and lose their lives. God heard their voice, looked at them and kept it in his heart. He sent Moses and Aaron to perform various miracles and brought all the people of Israel out of Egypt.

 

After leaving Egypt, the Israelites spent 40 years living in the wilderness before reaching the promised land. There were various miracles during the Exodus. Miracles which had surprised them and made them feel grateful at first became more and more commonplace for them.

 

One of the miracles was getting food in the wilderness. Shortly after leaving for the wilderness, the Israelites are in a food crisis. It's not surprising that they would face food crisis when they moved from a settlement to a dry and desolate land. The people complained to Moses and Aaron.

 

“If only we had died by the LORD’s hand in Egypt! There we sat around pots of meat and ate all the food we wanted, but you have brought us out into this desert to starve this entire assembly to death”. (16: 3)

 

 

Grace and gifts in everyday life

 

The Israelites were slaves, so they probably provided with food. Still, the injustice they had suffered in the past has probably been remembered a little bit too fondly. But God accepted this appeal and told them that he would meet the needs of the people. It was to "drop bread from heaven" for them.

 

The next morning, when people woke up, there was dew around the tent. As the dew evaporated, "thin flakes like frost" covered the surface of the wilderness. When they collected it, they were able to bake a strange bread. The bread had a "wafers-like taste that was made with honey" (16:31). Every day, the Israelites gathered only what they needed. Even if they collected extra, they couldn't eat it by the next morning because it would be full of maggots. Everyone was able to collect only what they needed. The Israelites called the bread "manna."

 

"Manna" is mysterious to us and to the people of Israel. However, in fact, it seems that a similar natural phenomenon occurs on the modern Sinai Peninsula. A species of aphid that sucks the sap of a tree produces a yellowish-white secretion. It rolls to the ground and hardens when the temperature drops at night, allowing it to be collected in the morning. It is rich in starch and sugar, and people living in the area still use it as a sweetener.

 

In other words, this was a daily occurrence for those who live in the wilderness. And for the Israelites, they will continue to eat manna for 40 years, and this has gradually become a daily routine-a daily event.

 

I don't think the main point is whether or not it was caused by a natural phenomenon or human activity, or something that cannot be explained by it. God’s miracles is not limited to splitting the sea in two or leading a pillar of fire or a pillar of clouds. There is God's will in the nature of this world and in what we humans do every day, and through these things God is working on us and in this world.

 

Just as the Israelites were nourished and supported by God through the natural phenomenon of manna, we may be receiving the blessings of God and the gifts of God in our daily lives. We are made alive not only by what we receive as individuals, but also by what we receive with our neighbours, in society and in our country, and as humankind.

 

 

Not just miracles

 

Last Sunday, at the Sapporo Church where I was until last year, a prayer to bless the coming of adults was also held. In it, a new adult was talking about his past. He said he was saved by his high school teacher and friends, not by God, and that there was real peace in friendship and everyday life.

 

I thanked God when I heard that. I was happy to hear that he felt that he had an encounter that saved him and that he could feel real peace in his daily life. I think that is the grace and gift of God.

 

When we think of something from God, we usually think of miraculous phenomena and events, or hearing the voice of God. Of course, there are cases like that, but God's work is not limited to that. Rather, more often than not in our daily lives, God's thoughts are realized, and even if something special does not happen, we are saved and feel at ease.

 

The Israelites also have occasional miraculous experiences, but most of their history has been a daily repetition. What is written in the Bible is only a small part of Israeli history. Miracles are given as special signs, but they are not always necessary to receive the grace and gifts of God.

 

God is interested in the details of our daily lives. And in it, shows his love for us. God is also aware that we are losing our daily grace and gifts and hopes that they will be restored and regained. God sometimes works in miraculous ways, but most of the time in non-miracle ways.

 

 

Response to grace and gifts

 

This grace and gift were given to the community to protect and share. God wants everyone to be able to "collect only what they need every day" and "those who gathered much did not have too much, and the one who gathered little did not have too little." (Exodus 16: 4,18). This world was originally created that way.

 

It is not only God's will, but also the responsibility given to human beings who have received grace and gifts from God. If people are willing to fulfil their responsibilities, the world will be able to show more of what God is trying to create, and if they are reluctant to take responsibility, God’s sadness and anger will manifest in this world.

 

That responsibility should be fulfilled among the communities in which human actions are involved. But in modern times, globalization has spread to every corner of the globe. And human actions has become so influential that it even changes the appearance of the earth. This earth was equipped with enough grace and gifts to nourish and support humankind. Mankind was also given the power to utilize and share it.

 

But now, the rapid progress in the world and the influence we receive from it is leading to us ignoring our responsibility towards God's grace and gifts. Everyone in the world has the right to share God's grace and gifts without being left behind. That right is given by God and humans must not take that right away from another.

 

God gives us grace and gifts in our daily lives to make us happy. And it should be given to everyone, not just us-to everyone, including those we don't know. God listens to our complaints that we cannot meet our daily needs. In the same way, he listens to everyone's complaints. And in order to respond to that, we are also required to learn God's thoughts in our daily lives and live by the word of God. 

 

 

Pastor Nozomu Sugiyama