· 

『人間に対する神の願い』出エジプト記20章1-3節

falcoによるPixabayからの画像

メッセージ

律法に先立つ福音

 

新しい年の最初の主の日の礼拝を皆さんと一緒に献げることができますことを主に感謝いたします。昨年から引き続き、新型コロナウイルスの感染拡大が続いていますが、心新たに主なる神様を礼拝したいと思います。

 

今日は、新たな一年へと歩み出していくにあたって、律法に注目しました。律法について、皆さんはどのような印象をお持ちでしょうか。それは自由を制限するものであるとか、神様からの押し付けられたものである、という印象があるかもしれません。あるいは、それはもはや過去のものであり、キリスト教には不要なものである、と思う方もおられるかもしれません。

 

最近私は、今の時代には律法を取り戻していくことが必要とされているのかもしれない、と考え始めています。それはもちろん、律法主義者になるということではありません。「律法主義」とは、人が律法を守ることによって、自分自身を救う、という考え方です。そのような律法主義はイエス様が批判されたものであり、私たちには無用なものです。

 

なぜなら、律法の前に福音があるからです。私たちを救い出そうとする神様の御業、イエス様の十字架は、一方的な恵みとして行われました。神様は私たちを愛してくださいます。私たちが神様に目を向けていても、目を背けていても、神様は私たちを愛しています。たとえ私たちが過ちを繰り返していても、神様は私たちと共にいてくださり、私たちが祝福を受け取ることを願っておられます。

 

神様はイスラエルの民に十戒を与えましたが、その前に「出エジプト」という救いの出来事がありました。イスラエルの民の叫び声を聞き、痛みを知った神様が、まず先に救いの手を差し伸べたのです。イスラエルに律法を与えるよりも前に、神様が救い、祝福するという福音があったのです。

 

この順序はとても大切です。神様は私たちが神様のことを思い、行動する前に、私たちの思いや行動をはるかに超える形で私たちに手を差し伸べてくださっています。ですから私たちは、神様の目を自分に向けるために、律法を守ろうとする必要は全くないのです。神様はすでに私たちのことを見ていてくださるからです。

 

律法は、私と神様の間にある救いの物語を前提として、私に伝えられるものです。だからこそ、十戒の初めに神様は、「わたしは主、あなたの神である」、というように、人格的な相互関係をもって私に呼びかけておられるのです。神様と私の出会いがあり、私に起こった出来事があった上で、神様は私に律法を与えるのです。

 

 

救われた者への神様の願い

 

福音が律法に先立つ、といっても、それは福音が律法に上書きされた、ということではありません。律法はイスラエルの民にとって重要だっただけではなく、キリスト者にとっても重要なものです。イエス様も、このように言っておられます。

 

「わたしが来たのは律法や預言者を廃止するためだ、と思ってはならない。廃止するためではなく、完成するためである。」(マタイによる福音書5:17)

 

イエス様は十戒を含めた律法を捨てませんでした。むしろイエス様は、それを最も深いレベルで実行されるべきである、とおっしゃっています。そしてそのためにこそ、イエス様はこの世に来られたのです。

 

では律法とは何かというと、それは「救われた人は、こんな風に生きてほしい」という神様の意志、神様の私たち人間に対する願いなのです。

 

そこには何の強制もありません。強制する必要などないのです。神様に救われたなら、人は自ら神様に応えようとするからです。神様が私たちを愛し、慈しみ、助け出し、導いてくださることを知り、かつ経験したならば、私たちが神様の願いに応えようとするのはごく自然なことなのではないでしょうか。

 

ところが、救われたという経験だけでは、私たちにはどのように生きれば神様の想いに応えられるのか、ということがわかりません。そこで、私たちに神様の想い、願いを教えるために、神様が与えてくださったものが律法です。ですから、律法も私たちのために与えられた神様からの恵みの賜物なのです。

 

ただし、律法はその時代の人たちの物語から切り離されて与えられているものではありません。旧約聖書に書き記された律法は、古代イスラエルの民に向けて与えられたものでした。律法は生活に深く関わる内容ですから、その時代・その状況に応じて新たに告げられるべきものです。ですから、私たちに与えられる律法は、旧約聖書のものと全く同じものではありません。

 

それでも、いつまでも変わらないものはありますし、律法に込められた神様の想い、願いは私たちにも向けられているものです。特に十戒は、私たちにとっても、神様に応え、信仰者として生きていく上での出発点となるものです。神様とイスラエルの民の関係から示された律法を基にしながら、今、神様が私たちにどのように生きてほしいと願っておられるのか、ということを考えることは、私たちにとっても大切なことです。

 

 

主だけを神とする

 

神様がとても回りくどいことをしておられるように感じられる方もおられるかもしれません。確かに人の応答など求めずに、全てを神様の想いのままにした方がはるかに効率的でしょう。しかし、もし神様が人の応答を求めずに、強制的に人々を支配したならば、その人間性は著しく失われていたことでしょう。そのことは、効率性を追求してきた現代社会の姿と、そこで傷つき、痛む人々の姿からも想像することができます。

 

神様は私たちを救ってくださいます。けれども、この混沌とした世界に秩序を生じさせ、この世界とそこに生きるすべてのものを愛し、慈しむ神様の意志を実現させることは、神様だけでは行わないのです。人間が人間であり続けさせるために、それを神様だけでは行えないのです。私たち人間が神様の祝福と恵みを共に受けるために、神様は私たちにも役割を託したのです。それが律法の内容です。

 

混沌(カオス)とは、秩序が失われた状態です。その例として、イスラエルの民が脱出するときのエジプトの状態を挙げることができるでしょう。そこは世界的な文明を築いた、とても豊かな大国でした。けれどもそこでは強制的な重労働が課され、支配を安定させるために、命の選別さえ行われていました。酷使された人々の叫びと痛みがそこに満ちていました。

 

目に見える暴力だけでなく、不平等や経済的搾取、貧困や差別といった暴力も、混沌(カオス)の特徴です。たとえ社会的な制度として整っていたとしても、神様の眼から見れば、そのような状態は無秩序であり、混沌(カオス)なのです。

 

神様は、このような混沌(カオス)からイスラエルを救い出しました。そして救われた者たちが、混沌(カオス)に逆戻りせず、むしろ神様の願いに適った秩序を造り出すことができるように、律法を与え、その出発点として十戒を与えてくださいました。その中でも、最も重要なこととして示されたことが出エジプト記20章3節に書かれた第一戒です。

 「あなたには、わたしをおいてほかに神があってはならない。」

 

神様は、ご自身への絶対的な忠実を求めておられます。ただしこれは、他の宗教的立場を否定するための言葉ではなく、「主に救われた者は、その主だけを神として従う」、ということを求めるものです。

 

この戒めを肯定的な言葉で言い換えたものが、申命記6章5節のあの言葉です。

 「あなたは心を尽くし、魂を尽くし、力を尽くして、あなたの神、主を愛しなさい。」

 

それは、主に救われた者が他のすべてのことにまさって、神様を畏れ、愛し、信頼する、ということです。そして、他のどのようなもの・どのようなことであっても、神様と並ぶものとしたり、神様よりもまさることとしたりしない、ということです。

 

私はこれが、宗教的なことだけに限定された戒めであるとは捉えていません。つまり、私が礼拝するのは教会だけだから、この戒めはしっかりと守っている、とは言えないということです。それが政治的なことであっても、経済的なことであっても、あるいはその他の社会的なことであっても、神様を畏れする以上にそれらを恐れてはいけないのです。あるいは神様を愛する以上にそれらを愛したり、神様を信頼する以上にそれらを信頼したりしてはならないのです。

 

実際、イスラエルの民が他の神々を拝んだときには、政治的なことや経済的なことが影響していたことが何度もありました。そしてそのようなときに、イスラエルは混沌(カオス)へと逆戻りしてしまいました。

 

神様は、人々が混沌に陥ることを、誰よりも悲しんでおられるのです。混沌とした状況の中で、人々が叫び、痛む姿に、神様ご自身が苦しんでおられるのです。それはイエス様が、弱り果て、打ちひしがれている人びとを見て、深く憐れまれたのと同じです。ここでの深く憐れむというのは、腸がちぎれるような思いになる、ということです。

 

神様は私たちも、すべての人をも愛しておられます。そして私たちや他の誰かが混沌の中で叫び、痛むことを、誰よりも悲しみ、深く憐れんでおられます。神様の願いは、私たちも、全ての人も神様に救われ、神様が創られたこの世界の豊かさを分かち合い、祝福を受けて生きることです。そのために神様は律法によって歩むべき道を示してくださいました。

 

今、世界には神様の願った秩序があるでしょうか。私には混沌が覆っているように見えます。もしそうであるならば、今こそ私たちは神様の律法を聞くべきでしょう。そして、その出発点として、主なる神様をおいていかなるものも神としないこと、どのようなことであっても、神様と並ぶもの・まして神様にまさるものとしない、ということを大切なこととして確認したいと思います。

 

牧師:杉山望

 


January, 3rd, 2021  Sunday Service

" God’s wishes for people "

Scripture reading taken from Exodus 20:1~3

 

 

The gospel that precedes the law

 

I thank the Lord for allowing us to gather today on the first Sunday service of the year. The infection of the new coronavirus has continued to spread since last year, but I would like us to renew our hearts to worship the Lord God again.

 

Today, as we embark on a new year, I would like to focus on the law. What kind of impression do you have of the law? You may have the impression that it limits your freedom or is imposed by God. Alternatively, one might think that it is a thing of the past and unnecessary for Christianity.

 

Recently I have begun to think that it may be necessary to reinstate the law in this era. That, of course, does not mean becoming a legalist. "Legalism" is the idea that a person saves himself by keeping the law. Such legalism was criticized by Jesus and is useless to us.

 

Because there is a gospel before the law. God's work to rescue us, the cross of Jesus, was a grace one sidedly given to us. God loves us. Whether we look at him or turn away from him, he still loves us. Even if we make mistakes, God wants us to be with us and to receive our blessings.

 

God gave the Ten Commandments to the Israelites, but before that there was a salvation event called “Exodus”. God, who heard the cry of the Israelites and knew the pain, first reached out to help. There was a gospel of saving and blessing before giving the commandments to the Israelites.

 

This order is very important. God reaches out to us in a way that goes far beyond our thoughts and actions before we think of him and act. Therefore, we do not have to try to keep the law in order to turn God's eyes on ourselves. Because God has already seen us.

 

The law is told to us on the premise of the story of salvation between God and us. That is why, at the beginning of the Ten Commandments, God is calling to us with a personal interrelationship, saying, "I am the Lord, your God." God gave us the law after we have met God and what happened to us.

 

 

God's wish for those who have been saved

 

Just because the gospel precedes the law does not mean that the gospel has been overwritten by the law. The law was not only important to the Israelites, but also to Christians. Jesus also said this.

 

“Do not think that I have come to abolish the Law or the Prophets; I have not come to abolish them but to fulfil them.” (Matthew 5:17).

 

Jesus did not abandon the law, including the Ten Commandments. Rather, Jesus says that it should be done at the deepest level. And that is why Jesus came to this world.

 

Then, what is the law? It is God's will, “I want those who are saved to live like this”, and God's wish for us human beings.

 

There is no coercion there. There is no need to force it. This is because if God saves us, we will try to respond to God ourselves. If we know and experience that God loves, compassions, rescues, and guides us, then it seems natural for us to respond to God's wishes.

 

However, just by being saved does not equal to knowing how to live according to God’s wishes. Therefore, what God has given us to teach us the thoughts and wishes of God is the law. Therefore, the law is also a gift of God's grace given for us.

 

However, the law is not told separately from the stories of the people of that era. The law written in the Old Testament was given to the people of ancient Israel. Since the law is deeply related to their daily lives, it was probably renewed according to the times and circumstances. So, the law given to us is not exactly the same as that of the Old Testament.

 

Still, there are things that will never change, and God's thoughts and wishes in the law are also directed at us. In particular, the Ten Commandments are the starting point for us to respond to God and live as believers. It is also important for us to think about how God wants us to live now, based on the law shown by the relationship between God and the people of Israel.

 

 

Only the Lord is God

 

Some may feel that God is doing something very roundabout. Certainly, it would be much more efficient to do everything according to God’s wishes without taking human’s response into account. However, if God had forcibly ruled people without asking for their response, their humanity would have been significantly lost. This can be imagined from the image of modern society, which has pursued efficiency, and the image of people who are hurt here and there.

 

God saves us. However, God does not create order in this chaotic world and realize his will to love and be benevolent to this world and everything that lives there without considering human’s response. In order for human beings to remain human, it cannot be done solely by God. God has entrusted us with a role so that we humans can receive God's blessings and grace together. That is the content of the law.

 

Chaos is a state of disorder. An example would be the state of Egypt when the Israelites escaped. It was a very prosperous kingdom that built a global civilization. But there was forced labour, and even life screening was done to have a stable system. It was filled with the screams and pains of the abused people.

 

Not only visible violence, but also invisible violence such as inequality, economic exploitation, poverty and discrimination are characteristic of chaos. Even if it is utilized in social systems, from the perspective of God, such a state is disordered and chaotic.

 

God rescued Israel from such chaos. He gave the law and the Ten Commandments as a starting point so that those who were saved could not go back to chaos, but rather create an order that suits God's wishes. Among them, what was shown as the most important is the first commandment written in verse three.

 

“You shall have no other gods before me.”

 

God wants absolute faithfulness. However, this is not used to deny other religious positions, but a request that "whoever is saved by the Lord will only obey Lord as God."

 

The affirmative paraphrase of this commandment is that of Deuteronomy 6: 5.

 

“Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength.”

 

It means that those who are saved by the Lord will love the Lord, fear the Lord and trust the Lord above all else. And no matter who else or what it is, it is not to be on par with or better than God.

 

I do not see this as a commandment limited only to religious affairs. In other words, I can't say that I keep this commandment firmly if I only worship in the church. Whether it's political, economic, or other social, don't fear them more than you fear God. Or you must not love them more than you love God or trust them more than you trust God.

 

In fact, when the Israelites worshiped other gods, they received political and economic influences in multiple occasions. And at that time, Israel went back to chaos.

 

God is sadder than anyone else about people falling into chaos. In a chaotic situation, God himself is suffering from people screaming and hurting. It is the same as Jesus was deeply merciful when he saw the weakened and crushed people. Deep mercy here means that you feel like your insides are torn.

 

God loves everyone and is filled with compassion and is in hurt the most when we or someone else are screaming and hurting in chaos. God's desire is for us and all to be saved by God, to share the richness of this world created by God, and to live with blessings. To that end, God has shown us the way to go by the law.

 

Is the order that God desires present in the world now? It seems to me that the world is covered with chaos. If so, now is the time for us to listen to God's law. And, as a starting point, it is important that nothing else is made a god with the Lord God, and that no matter what, never put anything at the same level as God, let alone better than God.

 

Pastor Nozomu Sugiyama